We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun, great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hippodrome Deauville La Touques

Hippodrome Deauville La Touques
45, Avenue Hocquart de Turtot, 14800 Deauville, France
02 31 14 20 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Newbury, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great fun, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the larger of the two race tracks at Deauville; I actually prefer the second one, Clairefontaine, but La Touques is still a great place to go.
There are lots of places to eat and drink and lots of places to sit or stand to watch the racing. The quality of the races can be of a high standard and we saw horses belonging to the Aga Khan and Sheikh Hamdan whilst we we over there, as well as seeing Frankie Dettori have 2 winners at the same meeting.
It is a very cheap admission price compared to British racecourse, although a lot of hotels have free entry vouchers- so ask before you go.
Give it a try, even if you don't know much about racing, it's so cheap you can't really go wrong!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Parking SO easy. Entry fee SO cheap. Access all areas. You can place manageable 2 euro bets. You can stand at the finishing line, the grandstand, the winners enclosure. Very child friendly. Fantastic afternoon out

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“A very pela sang afternoon, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent our lunch in the restaurant panoramique ( called "la toque") where the vies Is stunning, Thérèse service professional And friendly.
The boys at the entrance are very friendly as well wehnelt indicating the parking.
The whole setting Is child friendly.
Over all, the. Crowd Is Nice And the afternoon was a bliss.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“First time for everything. Very nice !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

During 3 consecutive days we could visit the horse races in Le Touques in Deauville.
This was good fun and a good learning experience with helpfull people at the counter to assist with the different possibilities to go for a (small) bet.
At the same days, there was also a horse trading show opposite in the street. This too was worthwhile seeing. Some horses were pretty expensive - probably with good reasons - anf others anly went a 3000 to 4000 euros. Yet, at first glace these look OK too.
Luckily we are no experts.
Good fun to watch the "master of ceremony" lead the bidding.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippodrome Deauville La Touques also viewed

 

Been to Hippodrome Deauville La Touques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippodrome Deauville La Touques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.