We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Golf Barriere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Golf Barriere to your Saves list
Hotel Du Golf Barriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Mont Canisy, 14803 Deauville, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Had a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had 2 large adjoining rooms, which was perfect for the 5 of us. We enjoyed the pool and fitness facility and used the shuttle service into Deauville. The reception staff were very attentive and pleasant. We did not make use of the dining facilities, breakfast at 25 euros per person was more than we wanted to spend, dinner was also very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, Directeur général at Hotel Du Golf Barriere, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I am very thankful for bringing up such a positive feedback. I am also pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. My whole staff felt rewarded by your compliment regarding their “attentive” service.
We will make an effort for you the next time you want to try our food and beverage outlet like breakfast and diner. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel du Golf Barriere.
With my Best regards.

Jacques Horrent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    144
    61
    20
    11
See reviews for
84
241
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

food under standard for 4 star hotel
service very poor full hotel, but under staffed with kids that had know idea about service and catering

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, Directeur général at Hotel Du Golf Barriere, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and the Tripadvisor’s community. We are saddened that we did not reach the level of excellence you expected when you have chosen a hotel of Lucien Barriere Group. Concerning the quality of our services, and specially our Staff for which we used to receive great comments, we have taken good note of your feedback and we will continue to do our best to improve.
I hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcoming you back among us at the Hotel du Golf Barriere.
Best Regards.

Jacques Horrent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We enjoyed the hotel facilities but could hardly believe it when we ordered a pot of coffee and it was Nescafe. The buffet breakfast was a great treat with a good variety and attentive staff but, again, instant coffee. The bar meal we had on our first evening was very ordinary and lacking flavour but very highly priced so, for the rest of our stay we used local restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDirection, Directeur général at Hotel Du Golf Barriere, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Dear Barriemailboxtesco,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and have taken note of your comments regarding your lack of satisfaction concerning our food and beverage offer.
I do apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel du Golf Barriere.
Best regards,

Jacques Horrent
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Service wasn't good and the barmaid definitely unfriendly. Hotel was very expensive and drinks even more so. Nice location though with spectacular views and a nice golf course.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We went on a two night stay to this hotel.42€ for an evening meal and a bar meal would set you back at least €26 euro (£25) . the Hotel was very expensive with a beer being €7 (over £6 ) and a Gin and tonic a staggering £14 (€15) .
Luckily for us only a short stay ! In general Hotel was nice but not worth the charges for food and Drink.
Golf course was in very good order ,and we had a great round of golf.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Golf Deauville served the purpose of giving us a reasonable accommodation near the golf course. We also drove to Bayeux to take a tour of the Omaha Beach landing and its history. Very worthwhile trip.
We upgraded to a Deluxe room that had a very nice view of the sea and surrounding golf course. The rooms are a bit dated and could use freshening up. Otherwise the room was comfortable. Internet access was not free but could be purchased.
Our biggest disappointment with our stay was that we were not able to get a seating in the dining room the 3 nights we were there. Our only option was to eat in the bar which did not really suit us. It would have been nice if the reception had informed us that dinner bookings needed to be made in advance but no one ever mentioned this to us. We booked our room over 2 months in advance so there would have been adequate time to make a booking.
Our other dislike was the 25 euro breakfast that was completely out of order for what you got.. It was served buffet style with an unappetizing selection of foods. If you wanted tea you had to make it yourself. The only thing the staff seemed willing to do was bring coffee.
The golf course was okay however I doubt we will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Was disappointed. The hotel was probably very nice at one time, but definitely needs to be refurbished. Stayed there so my husband could play golf while in France. The rental equipment was so pathetic, he declined.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Du Golf Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Golf Barriere

Address: Le Mont Canisy, 14803 Deauville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
#2 Family Hotel in Deauville
#2 Business Hotel in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Golf Barriere 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hills of Deauville surrounded by rich greencountryside, the Hotel du Golf Barriere is a genuine invitation to relax. In this majestic country mansion which resembles an ocean-liner, everything is focused on wellbeing : whether here for revitalising or to enjoy the golf courses, the settings never fail to delight. The hotel is chic and sporty, offering guests a chance to recharge their batteries in a haven of peace. More than a wonderful breathof fresh air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Du Golf Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Barriere
Hotel Du Golf Barriere Deauville, Normandy, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Golf Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.