We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old characteristic hotel - needs a few repairs and updates but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Barriere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Barriere to your Saves list
Royal Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Cornuche, 14804 Deauville, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
amsterdam
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Charming old characteristic hotel - needs a few repairs and updates but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location - really liked it. Right in from of beach and close to golf and shopping ! The hotel is charming and brings you back in time. However it could do with some repairs/updates. Two elevators one of which was out of service. Rooms were nice but showers need some renovation - not up to par with the rest. I asked for feather pillows, not really of the best comfort or quality which I would not expect in one of the Leading hotels. Hotel was very warm (it was cold outside but they exaggerate on the heating creating a very dry atmosphere). Bar and cocktails very good - also comfortable and pleasant. Restaurant with very high ceilings which I like - they need to change the chairs which are very uncomfortable. Menu/wine list not that impressive. There are many places around the area where you can eat. Hotel pool outside was heated to 27 degrees so that was great in the cold weather. Staff friendly. Service at breakfast was not that good, dirty dishes were rarely cleared. Buffet was nice though. My partner and I came for the golf and there are many golf courses around that are fine and easygoing. For horse lovers I would also suggest this area since many stables and you can ride on the beach which is beautiful ! All in all, this is a nice hotel and worth a visit if you plan to visit the area !

Room Tip: Sea View room should be chosen, the view is lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril_CASABO, Directeur général at Royal Barriere, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Google Translation
Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprecie votre sejour au Royal Barriere, sa facilite d acces aux plages mais aussi au centre ville. Il est vrai que ce palace centenaire est un lieu emblematique avec une ame extraordinaire...Ravi de lire que vous ayez aussi apprecie notre bar, restaurant. Nous portons aussi une attention particuliere aux details que vous avez partage quant a la temperature interieur de l etablissement que nous essayons de reguler au mieux malgre des conditions meteos extremement changeante, l entretien du batiment auquel nous sommes tres vigilents...

Au plaisir de vous revoir tres prochainement dans cette merveilleuse region tournee autour du golf, des chevaux...

Bien a vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    170
    84
    34
    13
See reviews for
95
297
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

A very elegant hotel with beautiful old French decor. A hotel that probably does need minor updates but if you enjoy a more "classic" vibe than this really can't miss. The breakfast was held in a beautiful old dining room and had a good selection of food. The rooms weren't bad either, again.. very classic and functional. I can't say too much bad about this place; I certainly enjoyed my stay :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

In its glory days, this hotel must have been amazing, because this place used to be filled with celebrities--Robin Williams, Meryl Streep and Tom Cruise, to name a few. However, since then, this hotel seems to have declined its quality. For starters, the lobby is somewhat tacky and the decor is florid to the point of gaudiness. Our room appeared to be very old, and there were some stains on the walls. However, those are my only criticisms. The restaurant is wonderful and the breakfast that they serve is very delicious. The salon is wonderful and high-end; I received the best haircut of my life in that salon. The staff is extremely kind and so willing to help. Overall, the experience was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril_CASABO, Directeur général at Royal Barriere, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires qui ont retenu toute notre attention. Sachez que le Royal Barrière est fermé durant 5 mois pour effectuer d'importants travaux de rénovation d'une grande partie de ses chambres. Nous voulons espérer que la nouvelle décoration saura répondre à vos attentes.

Espérant avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau en 2015,

Très cordialement.

Cyril Casabo
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This is a wonderful, classic hotel of the old style. The beautifully appointed main floor lobby, lounge and restaurants are truly fabulous being right out of the nineteenth century. The rooms are large with views over the ocean, and they enjoy lots of hanging space. However our room was gloomy and old fashioned. The shower was tiny and distinctly third rate. All in all though this is a great hotel and should be a must for anyone visiting this lovely part of France.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril_CASABO, Directeur général at Royal Barriere, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Royal Barrière Hotel for your stay in Normandy and shared your experience on TripAdvisor.

Your impression is extremely important for us. Thank you for the positive feed back in regards to our service, customer cares and attention. We are passionate hoteliers extremely devoted to offer our customer the best care and experience. We are very happy to inform you that starting November till March 2015, we will start an important renovation program including 100 bedrooms
We are sure that our new product will live up to your exceptetions.

I look forward the pleasure to welcome you again in Deauville and present you the new Royal Barriere.

Kind regards,

Cyril CASABO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Well, it was a first French seaside resort for me, so I may be subjunctive but I do hope that the second will be better.
The building as well as the lobby are magnificent but when I entered the room I was really shocked (see pictures). At such cost that was definitely not what I expected.
After addressing the reception, the room was changed and I got a coupon for 2 glasses of champaigne as a compliment to wash out my dissatisfaction.
The second one was much better but still had soe signs of decay (though a little ones).
The restraunt was really good and service always at the very high level but still I am not sure this was the best value you can get for such price.
The management should really focus on renovation of this great hotel.

Room Tip: In no case agree to take rooms 106-108 - shabbiest rooms that I EVER seen for 5-star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril_CASABO, Directeur général at Royal Barriere, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Royal Barrière for your stay in Deauville and shared it on TripAdvisor.

During your stay you have not met the standard of excellence that you were entitled to expect. I shared your feedback with my teams and offer my apologies. We are passionate hoteliers really devoted to our clients to deliver a unique guest experience.
By the way, we are very happy to inform you that starting November till March 2015, we will start an important renovation program including 100 bedrooms.
We are sure that our new product will live up to your exceptetions.

I look forward to welcome you again in order to show you the new Royal Barrière,

Kind regards,

Cyril CASABO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We came from Paris where we stayed at the Hotel Plaza Athenee. It's a five star hotel, so we were prepared to be disappointed. We were NOT! This hotel is first class in every way. From the moment we arrived, the valet took our bags, and left us with a smile! A wonderful young women (assistant manager) checked us in. She left us with a smile as well. Just as we were getting on the elevator, we passed by another manger who left us with a smile! It turned out he was the General manager of the hotel, Cyril. He was outstanding!! He gave us the history of the hotel, made a dinner reservation for us, and when we came back down, he spent another ten minutes with us, telling us where to tour the next day. We had a wonderful dinner....five star, and an equally great breakfast the next morning. Cyril is the epitome of good management. We went on to Dublin, and then Rome. But this hotel was our hands down favorite!! We will be back!

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril_CASABO, Directeur général at Royal Barriere, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

What wonderfull feedback !

It is a pleasure for my team and I to read that you spent a great time with us at The Royal Barrière.
We are passionate hoteliers extremely devoted to offer our customer the best care and experience.

I look forward to welcome you again at The Royal Barrière Deauville,

Sincerely,

Cyril CASABO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral merseyside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

I agree with other reviewers that the rooms need updating but the hotel is a wonderful building in a fantastic location. The lobby,restaurants and bar are opulent and the service and food are excellent. It is in an ideal position to explore the lovely Deauville. The only downside for us was unfortunately a major one,there is no air conditioning in the rooms. We stayed in mid September and it was warm but our room was stifling,we had to leave windows open and got bitten by mosquitos. I would not be able to stay here without air conditioning in the height of the summer which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril_CASABO, Directeur général at Royal Barriere, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing the Royal Barrière for your stay in Deauville and shared it on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure for my staff and I to read that you have spent a great time with us and you have appreciated your stay. We are passionate hoteliers really devoted to our clients to deliver a unique guest experience.
By the way, I am proud to annonce you that, this winter, we will start an important renovation program including 100 bedrooms.
We are sure that our new product will live up to your exceptetions.

We look forward to welcome you again,

Sincerely,

Cyril CASABO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barriere

Address: Boulevard Cornuche, 14804 Deauville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
#3 Family Hotel in Deauville
#6 Business Hotel in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Barriere 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestically overlooking the beach in Deauville, the Hôtel Royal Barrière is an enchanting palace, a wonderful little gem for exceptional stays. Impeccable hospitality, refined decor, subdued ambience, gourmet restaurant... everything here revolves around luxury, peace & quiet and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Splendia and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barriere Deauville, Normandy, France
Royal Barriere Hotel Deauville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.