We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Barriere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Barriere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Barriere to your Saves list
Royal Barriere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Cornuche, 14804 Deauville, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Deauville
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Barriere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in September of 2007 as part of a business retreat. We stayed in an ocean-front room that was gorgeous. The doors opened to an ocean breeze and could be open the entire week. The weather was gorgeous that time of year, with only sun and warm temperatures. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and spoke great English. Of course the food and the drinks were pricey, but it was well worth the experience! The hotel was located centrally to many places to eat and shop, and without a rental car that was great. I would love the chance to stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — The views from my room were amazing!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    161
    76
    34
    13
See reviews for
89
276
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Some of these other reviews on the royal barriere make me wonder whether there is another Royal in Deauville because the one i stayed in has to be by far the worst luxury hotel i have ever stayed in. Where do i start , the decor is stuck in the 20th century it is screaming out for a massive renovation, The staff are pleasant enough and i would say some of them are very good, although i once had to wait 40 minutes for an omelete and in High summer when it is fairly busy i waited over 10 minutes for an Expresso on more than one ocassion. The food in the hotel is good but not worth the money, and in the Breakfast you have to pick carefully because some food on offer is appaling (the fruit salad is not fresh) and whatever you do don,t order toast unless you want to wait 15 minutes + and i will not even mention the fried eggs i am still waiting for them !
The pool is pleasant but small, but don't dare lie on a sun lounger they will charge you an extra 15 Euros for that luxury, outrageous. The gym is the size of a sauna and the sauna is the size of phone box, The room service overnight is efficient but limited and don, t use the Blanchissrie, laundry to you and me, they will discoulor and shrink your clothes. The is no air con but then again for a hotel stuck in time thats is expected im surprised there is a TV. And for those of you thinking nevermind i will stay in the Normandy, i would not advise it either, i had a meeting there on evening and spent the whole night itchy, there is dogs evreywhere they even have a dog menu, the place is full of mites !!! Anyway back to the matter in hand. In short if your over 85 love horribie dated furniture, not particurlaly good food and enjoy paying over the odds the Royal is for you !!!!

  • Liked — When i left
  • Disliked — To many to n
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

We got a great deal through Expedia (three nights for the price of two) and loved it! Not a full sea-front view - but a "side-view" which in fact gave an excellent view of the sea, beach, coast line (for miles) and the hills behind. Excellent service - from arrival to departure. Eating and drinking in the hotel is expensive, but like others we found that La Flambee restaurant is an excellent place just down the road.

  • Liked — A luxury hotel
  • Disliked — Expensive drinks in the bar
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in late August 2007.

The hotel is well sitauted within a few minutes of the beach and a short walk to the main shopping and dining streets. Its also only 15 minutes to the racecourse which has regular meetings during August at least.

Staff are friendly and helpful and generally speak good English. The concierge especially was great for organising the best seats in popular restaurants at short notice, giving free racing tickets, recommending places to go etc. Also valet parking (which was free!!) was very simple and our car was packed with our bags when we came down to checkout.

The hotel itslef is well maintained but somewhat old fashioned in its decor which may or may not be to your tastes. The downstairs areas with oversize vases and very high ceilings give a striking impression when you first arrive as do the numerous pictures of A list american movie stars who may (or may not) have stayed there (some of the pictures are studio shots so you have to wonder).

As mentioned elsewhere the rooms lack air conditioning which wasnt a major problem for us in 22 degree temperatures but any hotter and this would have been quite an issue. Other than the Normandie Barriere 2 blocks down I dont know where else you could stay that would be at anything like this standard.

Guests were a mixture of nationalities, some english, many french complete with their dogs (look out for dogs sitting at the breakfast tables!) all very well manored.

The outdoor pool is heated so was warm enough for our two kids despite the moderate termperatures. if you want a lounger this needs to be reserved and paid for at about 20E each per day which is ok if you are there all day but a bit of a pain if you just want to watch your kids in the pool. I was able to sit in the mostly unattended bar area to the side though without any problem so if you arent in need of a lounger its not an issue.

Prices for things in the hotel are expensive by any standard. A G&T, glass of wine, and two waters for the kids set up back E53. A bowl of chips by the pool was E10. Broadband internet in the room was E15 per day or E45 for the 4 days we were there although it didnt work all the time and they charged me for the calls to the support line (I only got an answering machine though). If you are easily offended by being ripped off in this way then this might not be the place for you, however if you are happy to shrug it off and just enjoy yourself then you'll be fine.

We used the babysitting service for 3 hours one night. The "sitters" are provided from the housekeeping staff. They are very flexible and it was clear it would have been no problem to arrange something for any length of time at short notice. We made the mistake of not asking for English speaking which created a few complication but the kids coped. Cost was E36 for about 2 hours although there had been some confusion on times and we got back a bit early so that may have been the charge for 3.

Overall its a nice hotel in a very nice town. Its expensive and so is Deauville and theres no real getting around that.
We really liked Deauville and if/when we visit again I expect wed stay here or the Normandie again. We went briefly into the Normandie and it seemed very similar. if you are wondering which then the Normanide has a quainter rural france look, an indoor pool and is slightly better situated but theres not much in it. I couldnt judge if they are equally good for UK guests but I see no reason why they wouldnt be identifcal (and they had a similar array of US movie stars on their walls).

  • Liked — This is where the high rollers stay
  • Disliked — Extra charges
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

If you haven't been to Deauville before it's worth bearing in mind that this is where wealthy Parisians like to spend a long weekend and that is the town's (and all its hotels') core business. If you don't like that sort of thing try somewhere else. The main advantages are some fantastic bistros and places to eat plus designer shopping. The downside is that it isn't the cheapest place in France to visit (but probably not the most expensive either). It's also quiet midweek out of season (which may be a good or bad thing depending on your point of view).

The Royal Barriere presents itself as the best hotel in town. I've only ever stayed there (and then only once) but it was a genuinely good stay.

Now for the detail : our room looked out over the sea and was fine as long as you accept that 100 year old French hotels, even if owned by a chain, are always going to be a bit idiosyncratic. In our case it was a toilet separate from the bathroom and lacking any independent hand washing facilities. If I was in a 5 star hotel in London I would not be happy but this is France and c'est la vie.

The room also looked as if it was ready for a refurb. There was evidence of work going on at the hotel when we were there; there was a large chute for sending debris down to a skip only a few feet from our balcony but all work was done strictly during bbusiness hours and we were never disturbed.

None of this should be interpreted as suggesting that the room wasn't up to scratch. It was - just that it will be even better when the decoraters have been through it.

The staff were terrific and really made a difference. Two examples come to mind. Firstly, the valet parking staff were always on the ball and as my wife needs a stick to help her walk they were never anything less than 100% attentive. (The cars are parked on the premises either outside the entrance or around the other side of the building.) Secondly, the waiter from whom I sought advice as to which of the many brands and vintages of calvados I should try first was genuinely enthusiastic and did not just push the most expensive option.

The food was good too. The only point I would make is in relation to L'Etrier which is the smaller but more upmarket and expensive of the two restaurants. This is very much in the "food as art" category with every dish containing a minimum of 4 constituent parts all described in excruciating detail by the perfectly couiffured waiter who brings it you your table. I've eaten at plenty of top class restaurants in London and elsewhere and this was more than a little bit over the top. If you want simple food and an informal atmosphere this is not the place for you.

On our last night the main restaurant was closed and we didn't fancy a second visit to L'Etrier so the concierge recommended Drakkar, a restaurant 10 minutes stroll away in the town centre. It was great and somewhere I'd happily go back to.

A stay at the Royal Barriere is not for someone on a limited budget but overall I thought it was acceptable value given its location, clientele etc. Although it's a 400 mile drive from where I live and my wife hates flying I'd be happy to go back.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barriere

Address: Boulevard Cornuche, 14804 Deauville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Deauville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
#7 Business Hotel in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Barriere 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestically overlooking the beach in Deauville, the Hôtel Royal Barrière is an enchanting palace, a wonderful little gem for exceptional stays. Impeccable hospitality, refined decor, subdued ambience, gourmet restaurant... everything here revolves around luxury, peace & quiet and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barriere Deauville, Normandy, France
Royal Barriere Hotel Deauville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.