We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for that special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere

L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere
Boulevard Cornuche, 14804 Deauville, France
+33 (0)2 31 98 66 33
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Deauville
Price range: $0 - $116
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Originally from the Sarthe region, Eric Provost started outat Floréal in Savigné l’Evêque. He went up to Paris tostudy at Châteaubriand and then at the hotel George V. In 1986,he flew off to Toronto in Canada to work at Les Colonnes. Ayear later, he returned to his roots in Sarthe at La Feuillantinein Mans, followed by a stunt at Le Moderne before moving onto Laurent à Loué, a Relais & Châteaux hotel.From 1988 to 1998, he worked in some of the world’s best kitchens.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful for that special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The atmosphere, settting and food was very memorable for all the right reasons, not cheap but worth it for that special occasion

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDdirection, Directeur général at L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear 1 smudgie 1,

The Etrier team, Eric Provost and myself are delighted that you had a fantastic time in the restaurant.
Looking forward to have you again soon at l'Etrier.

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    23
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Fabulous end to a fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from an amazing experience at L'Etrier. We hadn't booked, but off season fortunately got a table. We were not dressed for the occasion having left half of our clothes at home but staff didn't bat an eyelid which in all fairness they could have done. We were mostly looked after by a very tall, attractive waiter, I don't know his name but he was attentive yet discreet and played host to making our dinner very special. The food and service deserves a star, which I believe it used to have if I understood the previous French reviews. It really is worthy of it. I have worked many years in this industry and believe that this smart yet unpretentious restaurant is one of the best I have experienced. Thank you all for a great evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDdirection, Directeur général at L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear ssh,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
While it is true that we lost our Michelin star this year, we are dead set in claiming it back and your comments encourage us in our efforts.
We hope to welcome you again soon in l'Etrier.

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had 2 seafood platters (30 and 50eur each), and it was fresh and really abundant (too much..)
Service is high level (not like french standards...)
Atmosphere is really nice and refined - nearly classical - there is also a sort of veranda where you can eat
Prices are high but in line for what you get

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDdirection, Directeur général at L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Pablodaini,

Thank you very much for choosing "L'Etrier" and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us.
I have shared your words with the restaurant team and thanked them for their outstanding service.
We are very much ooking forward to welcome you back to "L'Etrier"

Sincerely,

Laurent Roussi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

L'Etrier is by far the most exclusive and high class restaurant in Deauville. Luckily they havnt got it over their head and are well capable of serving some amazing food at a good value, and serve it with graciousness and

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDdirection, Directeur général at L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Gunstein,

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its services!
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on Trip advisor.
I already forwarded your highly positive comments to Eric PROVOST and his team : they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect.

We look forward to welcoming you again to "L'Etrier",

Sincerely,

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Utterly amazing food, pretentious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We visited L'Etrier during a trip to the racing in Deauville and decided to treat ourselves to something special on our last evening.

We certainly weren't disappointed by an innovative, eyecatching and exciting menu that more than delivered in terms of flavours and presentation. Every dish was lovingly prepared and even though the portion sizes were more "nouvelle" than we expected, no one went hungry.

The cheese plate was a particular success at the end of our meal, being crammed with local selections all served in peak condition. We selected a table outside on the lawn (underneath the marquee) which was lovely, although we could have done with a fan or a window as it was swelteringly hot - why not open the sides up?

However, at the end of the meal, the pretention levels were increased by 100% by the waiter who came over and explained to my husband that he should select a particular glass of mineral water to accompany his black coffee at the end of the meal: I know that different waters taste different, but to sell a glass of Scottish mineral water to a Brit (who can buy a case of the stuff for £3) for £9+ really did bring tears in the eyes!

Definitely a special occasion restaurant - can't afford these prices every day!

  • Visited July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDdirection, Directeur général at L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear PRFluffy,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your impressions following your dinner at "L'Etrier" on TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time and your food. But also i apologize if you felt our service pretentious.

At our Bar and at "L"Etrier" we always offer a glass of water which is included in the price in order to better appreciate the taste of the rare coffees we are serving.
I am sorry if you felt that the waiter wanted to sell it to you. And since we have a water list, the water we are offering comes from differents areas of the world.

Please make sure we have taken your remarks into great consideration and that we continually work with our team to improve day by day the quality of service for our guests.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to "L'Etrier", where no effort will be spared to make your next experience truly memorable.

Sincerely,

Laurent Roussin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere also viewed

Deauville, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 
Deauville, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 

Been to L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Etrier - Restaurant du Royal Barriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.