We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Cherbourg to stay or eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Logis La Regence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Logis La Regence to your Saves list
Logis La Regence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Quai Caligny, 50100 Cherbourg-Octeville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best place in Cherbourg to stay or eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'm not sure why this hotel is only 3 stars, it should be at least four. I've stayed here three times in as many years and it is consistently excellent. Rooms are clean and comfortable; many with a lovely view of the harbour, and I love the decor. The food is simply excellent. The menus change regularly, always have a wonderful variety of delicious French fare and I have never been disappointed by any course I've tried. Breakfasts are also lovely. Best of all is the staff, who are friendly, professional and always very kind and helpful. During one of my stays I had a terrible migraine and the staff were kind enough to send food up for me even though I hadn't asked. It was great because I finally started to feel well quite late and was absolutely famished. I love this place; staying here is always a treat and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    52
    19
    14
    5
See reviews for
23
81
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed on a demi-pension basis in La Regence recently having noticed its great location on previous trips to Cherbourg.

We had a room with harbour view which was well designed, furnished and appointed. A minor quibble was the slightly disconcerting absence of a shower curtain in the bathroom.

Dinner in the restaurant was very good and we were ably looked after by a lively and charming Pochahontas look-alike waitress! Food and wine were above average and the cheeseboard was astounding.

Worth checking out when in Cherbourg as it is so convenient to the town centre and ferry port.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in August as we were catching a ferry to :Poole early the following morning. We booked a family room. To get to our room, we had to walk out of the main hotel building and around to a door at the side and walk up 3 flights of concrete stairs (no lifts) to our room. Luckily we weren't carrying heavy luggage or small children. The family room was 2 rooms with intercommunicating door. The chldren's room had bunks and a single bed. The adults room was very nicely decorated and had wonderfully comfortable bed and a spotless very nicely decorated en-suite bathroom. The adults room overlooked a car park but was 3 stories up, our sleep was not interrupted by any noise. There is no air-conditioning in the bedrooms.The decor and the ambience in the bar and dining area is very pleasing. However, the food in the restaurant is disappointing and I would not recommend eating here. It is also over-priced. And finally, the biggest rip off in this hotel was the price of alcohol. When the bill arrived we couldn't believe that a pint of Heineken cost 8.80 euros. This really is over the top for an average hotel in an unexiciting area and one clearly got the feeling of being ripped off. It's a pity that the hotel has this attitude towards transient visitors. Overall, I guess the hotel is very conveniently situated for catching ferries. We did have a good night's sleep in a very clean and comfortable environment (99 euros for family room excluding breakfast) but would certainly not recommend eating or drinking in this establishment!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front overlook the harbour. Rooms to back overlook a public car park. There is no hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here 5 times during the last 2 years, every time a pleasure, Elodie and her colleagues makeay partner and I feel very welcome, the food is fantastic, having recently dined with an excellent chef friend he agreed, the food is fantastic and very good value.

In my opinion, the only place to stay in Cherbourg, see you soon :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have only ever stayed here for one night and that was some years ago so I am not really qualified to comment on the residential aspects (I seem to recall that it was okay but nothing special).

Have used the restaurant (from the exterior the building looks more like a restaurant than a hotel) numerous times over the past 15-20 years. Until a few years ago it was the typical French bistro/brasserie/cafe serving good honest down to earth food at extremely reasonable prices; and then it changed - the menu was upgraded towards the haute cusine and this was more than reflected in the price increases!! However, the quality was good and we made a couple of return visits.

But for my Wife and I our recent visit will be our last. We do not mind splashing out a bit from time to time if we are rewarded with an enjoyable meal, but we do object to being "ripped off". We had two very poor meals which together with their cheapest wine produced a bill of almost 100 euros!! Within a few minutes walk there are several restaurants where two decent meals with wine would cost considerably less than half of this.

Maybe our experience was not typical, maybe the chef was having an off day, who knows? But we are most certainly not going to take the risk of a return visit - we just cannot afford to waste another 100.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the move
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here after arriving too late on the ferry to catch onward train to Paris. Had a really nice clean and comfortable room overlooking the harbour and dined in the restaurant where the food was superb. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked a family room for one night traveling home from France. The room was on the 3rd floor up a narrow staircase. It backed on to a rowdy car car park which had recycle bins that were in use all night long by restaurant kitchens. The following morning there was no hot water. We were told this was due to a malfunction of the boiler. However no attempt was made to offer hot water from a kettle or a discount.

We refused to pay for breakfast (which was poor quality and over priced by French standards) and eventually they agreed after passing us through three different people.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis La Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis La Regence

Address: 42 Quai Caligny, 50100 Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis La Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of old Cherbourg directly facing the port, the hotel restaurant La Regence offers easy access to the harbour, the train station and the cite de la mer. We are ideally located for cross-channel travelers and for all lovers of the cotentin region. The restaurant offers a warm and inviting atmosphere. Specialities are seafood and regional cuisine. The hotel Logis has comfortable rooms, 8 with view of the port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Logis La Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Regence Cherbourg Octeville
La Regence Hotel Cherbourg Octeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis La Regence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.