We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals i've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vauban

Le Vauban
22 Quai de Caligny, 50100 Cherbourg-Octeville, France
02 33 43 10 11
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $27 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Turin, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best meals i've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in cherbourg only one night, but it was worth the trip just to eat in this restaurant. The staff was friendly and efficient and everything we had was more than delicious. I've had a meal this good few times in my life! Love it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    65
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than rated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I visited Cherbourg for 1 night and wanted to have a decent meal so we chose Le Vauban for dinner as it was rated No.1
From entering the restaurant to leaving the service and attention was friendly, efficient and overall superb
We eat out in top restaurants frequently and the meal we had in Le Vauban was outstanding and much better than I had expected after reading Tripadvisor comments and ratings. I wont list all the items we ate but be assured that every dish was an adventure in eating and the quality of the fish dishes and sauces were outstanding.
Our total bill for 2 people with an aperitif and bottle of wine was approx. €130 so value for money definitely.
I fully recommend this restaurant and suggest booking in advance as it is very popular.
If le Vaubin is full then I recommend Cafe de Paris (within 50 metres) as a close second.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a Gourmet dinner with friends food very good young waiter very attentive, older lady looked like a manager spent a lot of time chatting, had to wait over 15 minutes to ask for bill. food good wine expensive,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Last lunch leaving France ~ superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Yeah ok it's not cheap but you get what you pay forin this world. Fantastic food and lovely staff. Merci mes amis, I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews, great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome by the charming waiter and the manager. We chose a four course set menu and it was delicious. A bottle of St Veran was reasonably priced. A very pleasurable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vauban also viewed

Cherbourg-Octeville, Manche
Cherbourg-Octeville, Manche
 
Cherbourg-Octeville, Manche
Cherbourg-Octeville, Manche
 

Been to Le Vauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vauban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.