We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of England with friendly wait staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Dolly's

Le Dolly's
18 av de le liberation, 14000 Caen, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 322 Restaurants in Caen
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A touch of England with friendly wait staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Located in centre of Caen on a raised walkway above the busy road. Cosy inside with settees but we chose to eat outside under the awning as it was a bright sunny evening. We only had one course and it was the englishness of the menu that attracted us there in the first place. After a few days touring Brittany we wanted some plain food. We had Fish and Chips and a De Luxe Burger with fries and egg, bacon, relich, grated cheese all included. Food was good and very filling. My only criticism was that my burger came with half a plate of lettuce that was not wanted. If I wanted a salad I would have ordered one. Staff were very friendly and spoke good english. With half a carafe of vin rouge the bill came to just under 40 euros. Which I think is fairly expensive for just one course.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    141
    46
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stuttgart
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Vegetarian in France!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent veggie food. Felafel was fine. Blu cheese hash brown 'burger' is excellent. Recommend the deserts...wow.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

me and my dad popped into "Dolly's" while on a whilst to Normandy in April. Taking advice from the tourist guide book, we were greeted with friendly staff and excellent food on a Friday evening......and booked a table for the following Saturday night!!!! The staff truly made us welcome (their French hospitality towards us being English made us feel at home!)

Staff members Diana and Matt were the main winners!!!

RESERVATION ADVISABLE!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went just before 3pm when they start serving afternoon tea,but no probs they still served us.Great scones and my wife had cake and hot chocolate.
Quirky place but very nice would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy café!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is really nice with awesome decoration in the typical English style! The choice of menu is large and food really good!!! You can go there for breakfast or anytime of the day for linch, an afternoon tea with pastries or a beer in the evening :-)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Dolly's also viewed

 

Been to Le Dolly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Dolly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.