We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic & Special b&b...Great location...Loved our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos Saint Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Clos Saint Martin to your Saves list
Le Clos Saint Martin
18 Bis Place Saint Martin, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Caen B&B and Inns
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Romantic & Special b&b...Great location...Loved our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first b&b in France during our 17 day trip and it became our favourite. We loved our 4 night stay in the charming chambre Louise: spacious, comfortable bed, modern bathroom. The mansion is beautifully appointed and elegantly furnished with a picturesque courtyard at the front. Our hostess Virginia was just wonderful & took very good care of us. The breakfasts were superb & delicious...coffee & juice, fresh flaky croissants & bread, small danishes, a daily baked apple treat and the most delicious homemade yogurt and jams. All served in a gorgeous dining room private setting. We had a rental car and loved that we could park it in the b&b's private driveway. We also loved the small details that were offered such as the complementary bottled water and toiletries. Caen was a perfect base to explore Normandy and Le Clos is ideally located for walking to local restaurants and sights in the area. We definitely recommend this b&b and would stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This beautiful 18th century home in Caen is the perfect setting from which to experience the charm of the French countryside in Normandy. Sylvie and Jean Noel are delightful hosts and very helpful in describing all the historical and artistic spots their part of the world has to offer (William the Conqueror, D-Day beaches, Bayeux, Honfleurs, etc.). Sylvie speaks fluent English so that we didn't have to struggle with our very rusty French. Breakfast is a treat, consisting of very tasty and unique homemade delights. The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated. Excellent restaurants are all located in one main area of the city, only a short walk (10 - 15 minutes) away. Located at the end of a long driveway the rooms are quiet.and free of street noise. We look forward to our return to Caen and without any question will be staying at Le Clos St Martin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent one evening here and it felt like royalty. We had a large room overlooking the courtyard, with lovely antique furniture. It was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. Superb location to the old town. We stayed in Caen to be close to the D-Day beaches, despite being 30 minutes away it was well worth enjoying this charming B&B and historic city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After a late crossing from portmouth to Caen, arriving at past 10pm, the unassuming door onto the street, lead through a small passage into a welcoming haven.

We four, two adults and two children stayed in the marie suite, both very comfortable and appointed to a very high standard.

Breakfast was home cooked, and enjoyable.

English spoken.

La clois is ideally situated within walking distance of the hotel de ville and the impressive fortress of Duke William ( which I made before breakfast )

Note parking outside in metered, but free from 7.30 pm to 9.30am

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I do not want to repeat the same good stuff that other travelers have already mentioned about this BB. I really love this romantic place. My room was spacious and nicely decorated with antiques. They have free WiFi, which you do not even get in great hotels for free.
Before arriving Mrs Sylvie was very helpful with direction and recommendations about D Day tour. Across the street there is a bakery "La Madeleine" where locals have breakfast.
We arrived on a Sunday morning because we traveled by ferry from Portsmouth. It was not nice not to be able to have any kind of transportation to go the the BB. We had to go across the train station to ask for help, somehow we managed to communicate in English, Spanish and a few French words... well, finally we had a taxi. Later we found out that they have a tram that goes to Saint Martin (ask the driver > show the address). Unfortunately I forgot to ask about transportation. I guessed that being at a train station this would not be a problem.
Location is exceptionally to visit Caen on foot. At a walking distance to the castle (William the conqueror) and a cathedral. There are many restaurants close by too.
We chose Le Clos Saint Martin based on Trip Advisor traveler's recommendation.
If you need help call Mrs Sylvie at 0680873905 (I do not have French area code right now)

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for three nights. Our hosts were at pains to be helpful with local knowledge. The house and rooms are most unusual, full of antiques and interest. Our room was on the the second floor, accessed by a spiral stone staircase - definitely not for the infirm, disabled or unfit! Breakfast was presented with great flair, some of the pastries made by our hostess Sylvie. Metered parking outside is convenient but you have to watch out for the prowling wardens and keep the meter fed. Overall a very pleasant part of our Caen holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantova
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed al the hotel for one night only, but it was a very happy experience: the ancient atmosphere of the house,but with every confort, a very elegant room,a precious and clean bathroom, a delicious breakfast, Kindness and very useful information by Mrs Sylvie: a great, very special address for your stay in Caen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Saint Martin

Address: 18 Bis Place Saint Martin, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic centre of Caen, just off the Place St-Martin is this lovingly-restored mansion, dating from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries.Sylvie and Jean Noel have used traditional materials in the restoration, which has revealed the stone and timber ceilings and the superb curved staircase leading to the guest rooms, or rather suites as they are so very large and so richly furnished and decorated.Delicious breakfasts with candle are served at small tables in the ground-floor dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Clos Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Saint Martin Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos Saint Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.