We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful haven...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos Saint Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Clos Saint Martin to your Saves list
Le Clos Saint Martin
18 Bis Place Saint Martin, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Caen B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful haven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After a late crossing from portmouth to Caen, arriving at past 10pm, the unassuming door onto the street, lead through a small passage into a welcoming haven.

We four, two adults and two children stayed in the marie suite, both very comfortable and appointed to a very high standard.

Breakfast was home cooked, and enjoyable.

English spoken.

La clois is ideally situated within walking distance of the hotel de ville and the impressive fortress of Duke William ( which I made before breakfast )

Note parking outside in metered, but free from 7.30 pm to 9.30am

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I do not want to repeat the same good stuff that other travelers have already mentioned about this BB. I really love this romantic place. My room was spacious and nicely decorated with antiques. They have free WiFi, which you do not even get in great hotels for free.
Before arriving Mrs Sylvie was very helpful with direction and recommendations about D Day tour. Across the street there is a bakery "La Madeleine" where locals have breakfast.
We arrived on a Sunday morning because we traveled by ferry from Portsmouth. It was not nice not to be able to have any kind of transportation to go the the BB. We had to go across the train station to ask for help, somehow we managed to communicate in English, Spanish and a few French words... well, finally we had a taxi. Later we found out that they have a tram that goes to Saint Martin (ask the driver > show the address). Unfortunately I forgot to ask about transportation. I guessed that being at a train station this would not be a problem.
Location is exceptionally to visit Caen on foot. At a walking distance to the castle (William the conqueror) and a cathedral. There are many restaurants close by too.
We chose Le Clos Saint Martin based on Trip Advisor traveler's recommendation.
If you need help call Mrs Sylvie at 0680873905 (I do not have French area code right now)

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for three nights. Our hosts were at pains to be helpful with local knowledge. The house and rooms are most unusual, full of antiques and interest. Our room was on the the second floor, accessed by a spiral stone staircase - definitely not for the infirm, disabled or unfit! Breakfast was presented with great flair, some of the pastries made by our hostess Sylvie. Metered parking outside is convenient but you have to watch out for the prowling wardens and keep the meter fed. Overall a very pleasant part of our Caen holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantova
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed al the hotel for one night only, but it was a very happy experience: the ancient atmosphere of the house,but with every confort, a very elegant room,a precious and clean bathroom, a delicious breakfast, Kindness and very useful information by Mrs Sylvie: a great, very special address for your stay in Caen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We decided to stay in Caen on the first night of our driving break heading towards La Rochelle. Road works and diversions in Caen made it hard to locate the address, but once we did, we were very happy. Up an alleyway was an iron gate leading to such a lovely townhouse. Our bedroom was on the top floor, and everything we hoped for. A large room, tastefully decorated. The breakfast was very good indeed, and the the owner could not have been more helpful with her advice on how to get to our next port of call. This place really is an object lesson in how to run a town hotel - we would be very happy to return.

Have you noticed how friendly french people are? When we got lost in Caen, a stranger went out of her way to go fetch a map and offer directions etc. I doubt whether we would expect the same in London!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Sylvie and Jean Noel are Gracious hosts with a wonderful home. We stayed in the "Marie" suite which was perfect for our family of four. Beautifully restored with the right touch of authentic and old, yet modernized (the bathroom!). The location within Normandy and the town of Caen are perfect. Our only regret was that we did not plan three nights in this location instead of our two. It was a dream stay at a dream B&B. Planning to return... ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is the most wonderful and charming B&B, as are its owners. We were late arriving but that didn't seem to matter at all and we were made to feel very welcome. We had to park a couple of minutes down the road on the first night due to the market the next day but there is plenty of parking ( meters during the day but free in the evening until 9:30am ).

The house itself is beautiful, very tastefully furnished in ornate French style. It is also immaculate. Our 3 children were made to feel especially welcome. Our room was extremely spacious even with an extra bed in and very clean, beautifully furnished with lovely views of the courtyard below and church. Great shower too.

As mentioned previously in other reviews there isn't a cooked breakfast option ( excluding the delicious apple speciality) however it is certainly not needed. The pastries, fresh breads, ripe fruit and homemade preserves are wonderful. The homemade yogurt is fantastic. Huge pots of fresh tea and coffee are readily refilled too. Seeing the table laid for breakfast is an experience worth staying for alone.

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our holiday before catching the ferry home. We wished to see the D-Day Museum and beaches. It was an excellent location for this as its a 10 minute drive to the museum (well worth a visit), 20-30 minute drive to various beaches / memorials, 20 minute easy drive to Caen - Portsmouth ferry. Bayeux is close by too. Madame Sylvie gave us a voucher for reduced entry too.

The B&B is situated in a quiet courtyard but a short stroll from a good choice of places to eat / drink. Caen is lovely and we were surrounded by beautiful buildings, we could glimpse the church where William the Conqueror is buried from our room. Whilst we were there the local market was on just outside in the main street ( not that you would of known in our quiet oasis).

Caen has a great choice of restaurants. There is a lovely area with lots of places to choose from on the east side of the castle, about a 15 minute gentle stroll from the B&B.

I can thoroughly recommend staying here, there is nothing negative to say at all. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suite "Marie". Perfect as a very large double room leads through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Saint Martin

Address: 18 Bis Place Saint Martin, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic centre of Caen, just off the Place St-Martin is this lovingly-restored mansion, dating from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries.Sylvie and Jean Noel have used traditional materials in the restoration, which has revealed the stone and timber ceilings and the superb curved staircase leading to the guest rooms, or rather suites as they are so very large and so richly furnished and decorated.Delicious breakfasts with candle are served at small tables in the ground-floor dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Clos Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Saint Martin Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos Saint Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.