We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, well priced hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carline to your Saves list
Hotel Carline
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue du Professeur J. Rousselot, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Caen
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good, well priced hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights as part of a Leger's battlefield tour.

Hotel is in the shadow of the regional University Hospital, so used by relatives etc - and is surrounded by smaller educational/medical blocks, all very anonymous in the French way and identified by unguessable initials - at the front door is a sixth form college, then a smaller architectural institute, and a blood transfusion centre, with a logistics apprenticeship training centre across the road.
It isn't much good for an interesting early morning walk and a look into people's gardens!

It is hard to beat the hotel restaurant for the evening meal - it is remarkably good for such a well priced hotel. There is also the Buffalo Grill [and Macdonalds tucked away round the corner if you really don't care] and then there is the Carrefour supermarket across the road, open till 2100, and with a couple of bars etc] The Twisto tram takes no time to get into the centre - very simple to use, 1.3 euros each way - tickets from the machine in the tram stop.

Rooms are fine - like an Ibis, so thankfully lacking in drawers to leave things behind in when rushing to pack. The bed was fine, and heating controllable on a very chilly April.

Staff were excellent - way above the standard of a comparable UK hotel - well groomed, well mannered, well dressed - a reflection of the value and respect paid by the French to catering and hospitality as a profession.

I don't think the Hotel Carline would pretend to offer a romantic or luxurious holiday experience - but it is great for a couple-of-days-in-and-around-Caen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    47
    38
    16
    9
See reviews for
29
28
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond upon Thames, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Smart public areas and good value restaurant Plat du Jour. Rooms could do with updating, but probably a better choice than a similar two star chain hotel. Staff mainly very friendly and helpful apart from first night duty manager who we had to plead with to provide an extra pillow. He claimed the entire hotel was full and there were no spares. A little more customer service training there could go a long way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel is rated a two star and that is about right. The location is good for the city centre with a tram stop about 150 metres away at a cost of €2.60 return and 15 minute travel time. Average rooms for the rating but I would not like to stay there in a bitter winter as the maid turns the pathetic heaters off everday so when you get back the room is cold and then takes hours to warm back up again! The lighting in the bedroom is just acceptable but I have seen more light from a blackhole than is available in the bathroom, getting a shave in the dark is always difficult! However the staff are very pleasent. The breakfast is acceptable but mundane and boring after 4 nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

if for some strange reason you decide to stay in this town i recommend this hotel as it is clean and a good price and a decent location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Clean rooms, Restaurant good for both breakfast and evening meals and reasonably priced. Also tried the Buffalo Grill next door, which was good. We didn't expect much on a coach trip by Leger to the D-Day landing sites, but were pleasantly surprised. The bar could do with more varation of drinks, and the rooms lacked drawer space.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

like the previous review we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. having booked a 4 night leger package here and read the reviews we actually booked another caen hotel for the latter 3 nights with every intention of only using the carline as a meeting point for the leger tour. however, after our first night we decided to cancel our back-up and stay at the carline. i agree with everything PJW1949 says so won't bother repeating - except our shower was not mouldy. we were particularly pleased with a very quiet room - couldn't hear any noise whatsoever (other than a noisy cistern which we were able to turn off at night) - we were in room 10 on the ground floor. only 2 mins from the excellent tram service into the centre
for a reasonably cheap 2* the carline is fine.

Room Tip: ground floor 1-10 - a separate quiet corridor with only 6 rooms so less night traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

After reading previous reviews I was not looking forward to staying here. I was very relieved to be pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was attractive and very clean with lovely friendly staff. Firstly the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice, which included thick cut ham, eggs, cheese, wonderful bread rolls, 2 choices of cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, toast, pastries, jams, honey and best of all really decent coffee! There was also tea, bottled water and 2 kinds of fruit juice. Dinner (I pre- booked) was also great value with several choices of main course with a vegetable and bread rolls. The starter was a help yourself buffet with a very good choice. The dessert buffet was a tasty selection which included tarts, fresh fruit, cake, delicious mousse and more. There was no restriction on the number of dessert one could eat! The house wine was very drinkable and reasonably priced. A la carte also available at fair prices.
The room I had was on the ground floor and was basic but very clean and quiet. The bed was very firm and a few more hangers would have been useful as there are no drawers. The bathroom was quite small but clean. However, the shower did have quite a lot of black mould which should have been cleaned. The grouting was discoloured. Both of these defects which give a bad impression can and should be rectified with a bleach solution and scrubbing brush. The shower tray was clean as was the rather tired looking shower curtain. The shower was powerful and soap was provided as were good towels which were changed daily. The bar/reception area was pleasant and comfortable. Over- all an excellent value hotel with helpful and cheerful staff, well located a few minutes from the tram to the centre of town. The Carline is an ideal place for a coach touring holiday as the room is only used for sleeping. You get what you pay for and this was great value all round. I was on a Leger Tour which I very much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Take a few extra hangers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caen
0.1 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#29 of 43 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Libera Caen Colombelles
Hotel Libera Caen Colombelles
#1 of 1 in Colombelles
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inter-hotel Otelinn
Inter-hotel Otelinn
#31 of 43 in Caen
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kyriad Caen Sud - IFS
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Caen Nord - Memorial
4.1 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#25 of 43 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carline

Address: 11 rue du Professeur J. Rousselot, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carline 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Carline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarine Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.