We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Hotel du Chateau
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Chateau to your Saves list
Hotel du Chateau
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Avenue du 6 Juin, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Caen
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great personal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Nothing was too much trouble at this comfortable , well run little hotel. The proprietor went out of his way to make us feel most welcome and special. Always ready to offer help and information yet courteous and discrete at the same time..he really made our weekend a most enjoyable one.
A big "Thank You " to Ivon and the team. We will be back to see you again very soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The room was what we expected, small and compact. The bed was comfy and the water was hot. Pretty much all we wanted after a long day traveling. Caen was only a quick stop over, as not much to see in the city but the staff were helpful none the less with information about the city. When we went to check out I asked if they had breakfast available. So glad I did! We got so much food, croissants, baguettes, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice and fresh coffee for 8Euro! The food just kept coming!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked through the tourist office in Caen, as we arrived in Caen late afternoon. Went straight to the hotel which was 2 minutes from the office and we needed private parking for the car. Perfect location for walking about the town centre and shops. Room was clean and the man on duty on reception (the Manager?) and in attendance at breakfast was very friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: The room we had was adequate for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

You can't get a more convenient location in the heart of Caen. An easy walk to the chateau, St. Pierre, the office de tourisme, and restaurants and shopping. It's on the light rail path which runs from the train station if you are traveling by train, or if you are traveling by car, there is free parking behind the hotel.

The manager is very friendly and helpful; the rooms are clean and adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We were four friends who stayed here in 2 rooms, Nos 10 and 14, for 3 nights (actually these are 4 person rooms - double and two single beds in each). We were visiting the D-Day beaches etc and wanted a convenient centre. Once we'd negotiated the Caen peripherique we found the hotel easily enough and parked in the somewhat cramped hotel parking behind it, (3 places plus garage) but with direct access into the hotel from the back. There is a 2 person lift which was needed as we we were aged 70-86. The largish rooms are basic but clean, beds comfortable, old fashioned furniture, decorated in pastel colours. En-suite bathrooms (these had shower, no bath) were small but adequate. Both rooms were at the front, overlooking a main street and the St. Pierre church and chateau, but reasonably quiet nevertheless. Breakfast at €8 was OK - orange juice, coffee or chocolate (but presumably tea would also have been available), a croissant, half a baguette, and a selection of butter and jams, but I personally would have liked some cold meats as well (greedy pig). Nice little lounge with maps of D-Day beaches on the wall etc. The major advantage of the hotel is its situation in the centre of Caen and its easy walking distance from the shops, banks, the chateau and all the restaurants/brasseries/cafes on the nearby Quai Vendeuvre. The manager was very helpful and recommended the La Taverne restaurant next door on our last night (free aperitifs with the hotel's card!). An excellent choice for a city centre hotel if you don't want or need all the fripperies and luxuries.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

Recently stayed at Hotel du Chateau in Caen. Very pleasant experience. Rate was very reasonable, excellent location-as the name inplies very close to the Caen Chateau. In the center of town, the tram stop is across the street. Room was nothing exceptional, but clean with all basic needs.

What did separate this hotel from others was the service. The manager went way out of his way to see that we were happy. In booking the room, my email was down for a while so I called the hotel directly to book the room, I offerd my credit card to reserve the room but the manager told me it was not necessary, he said he trusted me to show up. As we had 3 people in the room, we asked for another set of towels and within the hour we had another 3 sets. The breakfast room was full so the manger set up another room for us and personally brought in a complete petite dejeuner for us to enjoy.

His staff was very helpful in helping us find our way to the Caen Memorial. He extended our check out time when they found out our train did not leave till 14:00, then brought our bags out for us.

Highly recommended.

cya-Seattle

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 5, Avenue du 6 Juin, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.