We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyriad Caen Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kyriad Caen Centre to your Saves list
Kyriad Caen Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 place de la Republique, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Spofford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Following two days of touring the Normandy Beaches and Mont Saint-Michel we returned to Caen to drop off our rental car and rest before our long day of travel that would end in Reykjavik, Iceland. I booked this hotel in advance without much expectation that it would be the highlight of our trip. I am happy to say the Kyriad was just what we needed. Clean room and bathroom, a comfortable bed, nice safe location near plenty of places to eat and drink, a laundry just two blocks away (we really needed this!), and a helpful staff. They serve breakfast ($) but foolishly we skipped it then could not find any place open early Sunday morning. Caen itself seemed like a city that could use some PR. It has a great deal to offer and I wish we had more time to explore it. Worth it!

Room Tip: A room at least one floor above the street gives nice views and reduced street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    106
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
72
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stevesaint
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We only stayed their one night but the room large, clean and we had a nice view over the square. Restaurants nearby and parking available across the street.

We slept well and have no complaints about anything.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Kyriad hotel at city centre in Caen was our base for sightseeing around Normandy. It was clean and staffed by very friendly and multilingual employees. The room was small but comfortable. It was not luxury but more functional in nature. The only issue we had was the elevator broke on our day of check out and the staff helped carry our luggage down the stairs. Breakfast was provided and there was discounted parking in the garage across the street. It was walking distance to the castle and numerous resturaunts. We had a rental car and visited Omaha beach, the American cemetery, Pointe Du Hoc, St. Mer Eglise, and Mont St. Michelle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the centre of Caen, near shops, restaurants and historic sites.
Parking across the street.
Good and friendly service, they recommended some restaurants (check out Boeuf & Cow) and even made reservations (Le petit B - delicious)
Room was neat, bathroom was fine. Special taste in chairs.. ;-)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here en route to the 70th D-Day commemorations, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. But the owner Ophelia and her husband are outstanding in their friendliness and helpfulness - nothing was too much trouble! They solved a problem we had, which took considerable time and effort, for which we were and are grateful! Ophelia - thank you very much!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,Northern Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband took three D-Day veterans to visit the beach landing areas and stayed at this hotel. The staff, lead by the owner Briac, were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for them and, whenever one of the vets took ill, the night receptionist called the doctor and took charge of the situation in a most professional way.
The rooms are very clean and the location in the middle of Caen is excellent. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Only stayed one night after a week in Normandy (staying in Bayauex). Had an early train the next morning. Place is tucked away & hard to find. Location is an 8 euro cab ride from the train station & close to a restaurant "row" area (walking distance). Room was small but very clean & quiet. Not a lot of air circulation. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is typical @ 11 euros. The man who owns the place is very friendly & speaks English.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyriad Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Caen Centre

Address: 1 place de la Republique, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Caen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Caen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kyriad Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyriad Caen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.