We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days in Normandy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Fontaine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Fontaine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Fontaine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 days in Normandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I picked this hotel on the basis of a trip advisor recommendation and couldn't fault it. Clean, spacious, welcoming and very reasonably priced, we used the hotel as a base for exploring a few of the battlefield sites. The owners were very welcoming, cheerful and couldn't have been more helpful. We didn't do breakfast but the central location was ideal to find plenty of places to eat. Free wifi was really useful too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
39
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

From the time of booking we were made to feel welcome and every detail of our stay was noted by the lovely couple who run the hotel. We are a family of 5 with 3 boys who all arrived by bike from Ouistreham port. It took less time than we had anticipated and having told the hotel we would be there late afternoon we arrived early morning. This was not a problem for them and we were welcomed, allowed to drop off bikes in a secure private garage and leave luggage until rooms were ready. Breakfast was reduced in price for the children and we could not have asked for anything more than we were given. Great service for a reasonable price and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The staff was so helpful and SO nice! Right away they gave us a map and showed us where everything was, which buses to take to get to the sea, etc. Room was average, bathroom wasn't as nice as the rest of the room. The actual room part was quite nice though with a balcony :) Worth the money, just a little far from the train station for us carrying our backpacks and dragging our bags around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Saw this recommended on trip advisor previously and took a punt and wasn't disappointed. Stayed in family room which has maybe seen better days but for 67 euros for a mum dad and 2 kids we thought great value for money and very clean. It is right in the heart of Caen, a 5 min walk from the castle and some lovely bistros. Helene in reception was very helpful and spoke good english and recommended some places to visit

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Nice place to stay in center of Caen with a nice guy at reception.
Basic enough but clean

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

A great hotel, and fantastic value for the price. The rooms are fairly small and simple and the matress a bit soft, but it had a TV, en-suite shower and toilet, towels and soap. You don't need much more! My only slight negative comment would be that on Sundays and Bank Holidays you can't check in between 2pm and 7pm. However, the hotel did warn us of this in advance and gave us the option to cancel if it caused a problem. We asked if they could suggest a local bar or cafe to wait in, which they did. I'm glad we didn't cancel because it was a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Overall room facilities & hotel location is okay, not so close to the gare station but reachable by tram in a walking distances. Free wi-fi available. The owner is helpful with map & information of the city. A small disappointment is that I arrived at the hotel in the evening and the owner took me to my room, explained everything that I need to know and ended with he requested me to pay for the room when I came back from outside that night. I was surprised and said normally It was to be paid at the check-out time, wasn't it? He stared at me and said " I prefer to be paid tonight after you come back from outside " I was stunned for a while and told him that I would pay him now. Later, we met at the counter and I did the payment just before I went out for a walk in the city that evening. So be advised that you might have to pay for the room at the check-in and not the check-out, well, only for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fontaine

Address: 26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Fontaine 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Fontaine Hotel
De La Fontaine Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Fontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.