We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that's about it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Fontaine

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Fontaine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Fontaine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Caen
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location but that's about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights because of the location and cost, by the end we felt it was over priced.
When we arrived the host was very friendly and helpful even helping with our luggage.
We had a family room (2 adults, 2 teenagers) which were two rooms with the door in between open, but it worked fine. The beds were not comfortable, the decor was dated (but to be fair that's never why we choose a hotel) but the icing on the cake was the bathroom. For a regular length shower-for Europe quick and to the point-the shower pan was at the point of running over and the toilet has some sort of special- as my husband and son called it- "poop muncher" that grinds up the waste so it can move thru the system. This apparatus was noisy-think blender- and the result was the bath smelling of septic.
The breakfast was a typical continental with juice, coffee, fruit and rolls and at €5 it was about the same as eating out. But we did this only one morning.
We arrived later in the day/evening and were able to find street parking in front of the hotel but otherwise there is a parking garage around the corner.
The hotel is in a good location and close to downtown but because of the pedestrian zone it is located in it was kind of confusing to get to, we used our map app on our phone to figure it out. The castle and marina were both with in easy walking distance and it's a pretty city. One thing to be aware of though we did get screamed at by a homeless lady because we didn't give her husband-stationed across the street- any money, it was one of those "walk quickly kids!" moments!
We won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
37
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Staff was beyond friendly and even let us check in early. The room had gone through a little bit of updating but it was in rough shape. The area was good and we found shopping and food nearby. It worked well for one night and was quite affordable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was shown to my room by the friendly staff. However the room was dreadful. It smelled of damp, the shower didn't work properly and the shower tray would not drain away quickly enough to prevent it from overflowing, the walls were dusty and the furniture was awful. The final straw for me though was the mould on one of the pillows.
I packed up and checked into the Best Western, which was about 100 meters away.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, F
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The owners were very accommodating. While the rooms are modest, they were very clean. We opted to have breakfast (not included in the room rate,) and they were generous with coffee refills and to go coffee (in Europe, most restaurants charge for EVERY cup.) The manager was quite helpful with local tips, including parking

Room Tip: Not the Ritz, but value priced, handy location to Normandy Beaches, many other sites in Caen, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The latest reviews reflect our findings with the Hotel de la Fontaine. Relatively clean but old decor, carpets, bathroom fittings and cooking odour.
Clean sheets on the bed.
Did not have breakfast there, so cannot comment.
Tip: If you're following a Satnav to the Hotel, it will take you into what looks like a pedestrian area but follow the sign for the Hotel right, then right again and you will find the Fontaine. You can park on the street locally free overnight.
Would I recommend? - If you're looking for something in Caen cheap, central and don't expect anything like the Ritz - OK, Yes

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have to echo some of the other reviews here: great location, small but adequate rooms, and some of the friendliest hotel staff in France! We had a room on the street side, which got a little noisy probably because we were there over the 14 July national holiday. Rooms were clean and tidy. Bathroom grout does indeed need more attention - my husband thought his allergies were set off a bit by some mold, but it didn't affect me. The breakfasts often had more items than the standard croissant/baguettes - I especially appreciated the fruit! Staff helpfully pointed out that we could get a discount at the Memorial museum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

One star for perfect location. Otherwise I had a dreadful experience. We had the quadrupple room. it is in the court yard. Don't book this room! Book two double rooms on the streetside in stead!

Couldn't sleep for the mouldy smell in the room. Carpet was damp and there were mould stains on the wall. Smell of dinner hanging in the corridors and rooms at 11 at night. Noise from airconditioning system in the courtyard for the hotel on the opposite side. Seagulls yelling in the court yard. Had to leave and find another hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fontaine

Address: 26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Fontaine 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Fontaine Hotel
De La Fontaine Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Fontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.