We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highs and lows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Fontaine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Fontaine to your Saves list
Hotel de la Fontaine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highs and lows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Staff was beyond friendly and even let us check in early. The room had gone through a little bit of updating but it was in rough shape. The area was good and we found shopping and food nearby. It worked well for one night and was quite affordable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
42
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was shown to my room by the friendly staff. However the room was dreadful. It smelled of damp, the shower didn't work properly and the shower tray would not drain away quickly enough to prevent it from overflowing, the walls were dusty and the furniture was awful. The final straw for me though was the mould on one of the pillows.
I packed up and checked into the Best Western, which was about 100 meters away.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, F
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The owners were very accommodating. While the rooms are modest, they were very clean. We opted to have breakfast (not included in the room rate,) and they were generous with coffee refills and to go coffee (in Europe, most restaurants charge for EVERY cup.) The manager was quite helpful with local tips, including parking

Room Tip: Not the Ritz, but value priced, handy location to Normandy Beaches, many other sites in Caen, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The latest reviews reflect our findings with the Hotel de la Fontaine. Relatively clean but old decor, carpets, bathroom fittings and cooking odour.
Clean sheets on the bed.
Did not have breakfast there, so cannot comment.
Tip: If you're following a Satnav to the Hotel, it will take you into what looks like a pedestrian area but follow the sign for the Hotel right, then right again and you will find the Fontaine. You can park on the street locally free overnight.
Would I recommend? - If you're looking for something in Caen cheap, central and don't expect anything like the Ritz - OK, Yes

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have to echo some of the other reviews here: great location, small but adequate rooms, and some of the friendliest hotel staff in France! We had a room on the street side, which got a little noisy probably because we were there over the 14 July national holiday. Rooms were clean and tidy. Bathroom grout does indeed need more attention - my husband thought his allergies were set off a bit by some mold, but it didn't affect me. The breakfasts often had more items than the standard croissant/baguettes - I especially appreciated the fruit! Staff helpfully pointed out that we could get a discount at the Memorial museum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

One star for perfect location. Otherwise I had a dreadful experience. We had the quadrupple room. it is in the court yard. Don't book this room! Book two double rooms on the streetside in stead!

Couldn't sleep for the mouldy smell in the room. Carpet was damp and there were mould stains on the wall. Smell of dinner hanging in the corridors and rooms at 11 at night. Noise from airconditioning system in the courtyard for the hotel on the opposite side. Seagulls yelling in the court yard. Had to leave and find another hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice hotel with a wonderful location in town. You can walk to most of the city sights and it is very centrally located. Hotel is run down and definitely could use a fresh new look. The bed was comfortable and clean the street is extremely quiet. Grocery , shopping and restaurants nearby. Bathroom was a bit moldy so the walls could use a good scrubbing. Saw this trend in most of France but the shower was entirely too small. Having the Bathroom in room is quite nice. Had access to the refrigerator and microwave so that helped cut cost on eating out. No elevator so think about how much you pack and will have to carry. Top floor was I believe four stories. All in all for the price you pay you are getting an alright deal. Staff very friendly and willing to accommodate you and help. English was alright.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fontaine

Address: 26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Fontaine 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Fontaine Hotel
De La Fontaine Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Fontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.