We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean sheets, good price and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Fontaine

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Fontaine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Fontaine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Caen
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Clean sheets, good price and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our third stay in this hotel. A couple of years since the last one I beleive. This time we managed to park right outside and just pay for an hour and then it was free until the morning. Very pleasant young chap checked us in. We were in room 11 and could see our car from the window. The heating was very effective. The shower was clean and hot. The sheets and room were clean but the pillows were not very comfortable. The plumbing was a bit clanky in the morning but not a problem. It is an old buiding but the location is superb.2 minutes walk and you are in a shopping street and only five minutes to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
35
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The word "basic" is a good one when describing this hotel.... It is basic, but the location and hosts make it even better. The hosts were extremely nice and accommodating, and the location was perfect! Caen is an amazing place to visit, and we will definitely go back! We felt comfortable staying here, and our room was spacious, clean, and had everything we needed. The only downside to the room was the bathroom... it was tiny and the shower overflowed so our floor was always soaked, but it was a minor detail to deal with. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The plus is the location. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is convinient (don't go to the bar next door or you will end up paying 3,50euro for a cappuccino!!).
No lift and small room without air conditioning (even if Caen is not the hottest city it would be good to have one!).
That's about it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good value for money/ I need a place to sleep after being out all day for 8 days. Please note that there is no elevator there. The shower is a bit small. No air conditioning. The internet connection was good and fast. The location is Excellent, with access to many restaurants and stored of all kinds. No parking area, you have to park on the street (and pay)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is located in the city center. The staff was helpful and friendly providing me info about the trains to go to Mont St. Michel and Caen. The room and the bathroom were pretty small but clean (clean towels and bed sheets). It's a very basic hotel, maybe it needs much maintenance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Title says all. Couldn't ask for anything else really.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

There were a few parking spaces outside the hotel which are free between 10pm and 9.30am which was ok for us but would be annoying if you needed to park during the day. The host was very friendly and could speak a bit of English. The hotel decor was very dated but it had a tradiotional old French feel to it that we liked. The room was small but we were only staying for one night. The toilet and bathroom needed updating and the doors to the bathroom did not make it very private! 
The bed was comfortable and overall the place was clean although the bathroom was a bit smelly. 
It had a Fawlty Towers feel to it overall. 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fontaine

Address: 26 rue de la Fontaine, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Fontaine 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Fontaine Hotel
De La Fontaine Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Fontaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.