We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Quai Amiral Hamelin, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Ibis Styles Caen Rives de l'Orne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
leicestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A modern, clean comfortable hotel which ticks most of my boxes.
Safe, secure and local (cheap) parking beneath hotel.
Secure, quiet room with excellent shower and bed.
English TV limited.
No tea making facilities (as expected). Bottled water provided.
Breakfast excellent, but replenishment slower on busy mornings.
You can take coffee from reception to your room if needed.
10 minute walk to many local touristy bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: choose one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWENAEL L, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sir

We thank you sincerely for having taken time to write your comment, and are happy that you

enjoyed our establishment.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in one of our hotels IBIS STYLES.

Best Regards,

Gwénaël LE RET
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lapstone
Level Contributor
221 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is an excellent hotel, so very modern and comfortable, beautifully furnished, lovely functional spacious bathroom with an excellent shower. The bed is the most comfortable I've sleep in on my whole European holiday. Good desk area and seating and pleasant views in a very nice part of Caen close to the railway station and Marina. The only extra I'd have liked would be tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge in my room which wasn't included. It is about a 10 minute walk to the City Centre and the historical attractions of this interesting city. The service is good, with friendly staff. They were able give me access to my room when I arrived early in the morning. They seem prepared to juggle rooms to get you in as soon as possible if you arrive prior to their designated check in time. They don't serve evening meals, but can offer discounts at many other restaurants close by. They do however serve the most delicious breakfast in the mornings in a very nice room taking up a good part of the first floor. I was so satisfied with my stay at the Ibis.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWENAEL L, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sir

We thank you sincerely for having taken time to write your comment, and are happy that you

enjoyed our establishment.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in one of our hotels IBIS STYLES.

Best Regards,

Gwénaël LE RET
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and it is ideal when you are travelling by car to discover Normandy. The hotel was clean and modern, the breakfast was ok although there wasn't a huge variety of food to choose from, but everything was fresh and delicious. The room was clean and spacious, parking was fine too. The hotel is 10 minutes walking distance from the city center. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EszterB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWENAEL L, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Sir

We thank you sincerely for having taken time to write your comment, and are happy that you

enjoyed our establishment.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in one of our hotels IBIS STYLES.

Best Regards,

Gwénaël LE RET
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I like Normandy and usually stay in Caen or nearby.
This is a new hotel in a redeveloped shopping area with restaurants and cafes very close by.
I stayed for 10 days during the 70th Anniversary of the Normandy landings and the hotel was very busy with lots of visitors but everything was dealt with quickly, there were no long queues.
The parking arrangement with the shopping centre is very good and cheap.
The room was a good size with black-out curtains and a big window. The bed was very comfortable and there were English tv stations for news in addition to the local options.
The bar area had a computer nearby for those who don't travel with a computer or internet access, though one day when it needed a password the staff on duty said they didn't know it.
.
One day I had trouble with the air-conditioning, by the time I had returned the next afternoon it was fixed. The hotel is near the peripherique, getting you on the motorway and to your daily destination with no fuss. The only thing I would say is that the prices for the anniversary week were very expensive - but I think that was the same everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWENAEL L, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear customer,

We thank you sincerely for having taken time to write your comment, and are happy that you enjoyed our establishment.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in one of our hotels IBIS STYLES.

Best Regards,

Gwénael LE RET
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute when our planned accommodation didn't work out, For once I am pleased we had to change our plans at the last minute. This hotel is very nice. It is basic in many ways but is spotlessly clean, spacious, has air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. We booked online late in the afternoon and arrived a couple of hours later. Everything was as booked, a twin room as requested, and we were given a choice of low or high floor. The hotel is by the river and is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Breakfast which is included in the room price is a continental style, again basic but with everything you need to start the day. The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or evening meals but there are plenty of eating places within a two minutes walk.
If you are travelling by car be aware that the underground car park (part of a large public car park) is available for hotel guests for 2 euros a night from 6pm until 10am the following day, paid to the hotel. (I was told the normal overnight charge was 25 euros). If you choose to leave your car in the car park for the whole day I understand the cost is about 12 euros extra but you pay as a normal user, not through the hotel. It appears that all on street parking in the area is chargeable with ticket machines on every street.
We found the staff at the hotel very pleasant and helpful and all appear to speak good English. As I said earlier, Wi-Fi is free. It amazes me that a budget hotel chain like Ibis can provide free Wi-Fi when upmarket and far more expensive four and five star hotels charge a fortune for it. Well done Ibis

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWENAEL L, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear customers,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your opinion after your stay in our hotel.

We are delighted to see that you are satisfied with your past stay with us.

Waiting to see you soon in one of our hotels IBIS STYLES

Regards,

Gwenael LE RET
DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Room are great with modern touch, close to all attractions. The front desk were very friendly to answer all our questions and the breakfast are simply fabulous. This is one of the best value hotel we stayed in France.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robpatcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWENAEL L, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear customer,

We thank you sincerely for having taken time to write your comment, and are happy that you enjoyed our establishment.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in one of our hotels IBIS STYLES.

Best Regards,

Gwénael LE RET
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#6 of 42 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#1 of 42 in Caen
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 42 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#11 of 42 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare

Address: 52 Quai Amiral Hamelin, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Ibis Styles Caen Rives de l'Orne)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing