We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-placed for an overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne

Save Saved
You added Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue du Fresne | Bretteville sur Odon, 14760 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Caen
Saint Savinien sur Charente, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well-placed for an overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The location could hardly be bettered if you need a stopover between the Normandy ferry ports (Caen, Cherbourg) and Brittany and western France. Indeed, it is hard to see why else you would stay here - it is on the outskirts of Caen, and not particularly near any other attractions. It lies just off the roundabout exactly where the A84 autoroute meets the peripherique (ring road), at junction 9 (or - beware! - 9b if travelling anti-clockwise on the peripherique).
The hotel has its own enclosed car park immediately in front of the reception area and although it is not actively monitored staff say they have never had any problems with thieves. There is a restaurant on site, part of the Courtepaille national chain: undistinguished food but adequate for refuelling. A few hundred metres down the road is a filling station and small supermarket where you can re-supply for the onward journey.
The hotel is very modern, reception staff pleasant, room basic and functional but a good size and immaculately clean, including the shower room. No fridge or tea/coffee-making facilities; thin pillows, towels, toilet paper. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    124
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
52
130
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped over here twice during the summer on our way from Calais to the Vendee. The staff are very helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable and price very reasonable especially if you book well in advance. The icing on the cake was that attached to the hotel is a Courtepaille Restaurant which is open until ll pm. This proved extremely helpful in June when our tunnel crossing was delayed by 4 hours due to illegal immigrants trying to cross the channel. When we arrived very late we assumed there would be nothing to eat but no the restaurant was open. The fayre is tasty and a reasonable choice reasonably priced. The chain even give you a complimentary green salad while you are choosing from the menu. We will continue to use

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Not bad for the price. Enclosed private parking, with a handy Courtepaille restaurant attached. Room had enough space for a travel cot, provided free of charge by the hotel by prior arrangement. Room was pretty clean. Bathroom was a plastic pod, as in many chain hotels, but the water pressure in the shower was great. Extra pillows were provided on request. The duty manager didn't know where there was a shop that might be open on a Sunday (for future reference, we found a Coccinelle behind the Ecole Primaire de la Pigacière). Midday checkout was great, as we were travelling with our 4 month old baby, so I was grateful of the lie-in! Good midway point if travelling from Calais to Brittany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent hotel and also the Courte Paille restaurant attached. We booked 20 days in advance which was a very good price. But the price on the day or less than 20 days in advance was expensive at 81 euros for the room. Our room was almost above the restaurant and a little noisy in the morning as the rrefuse bins were almost underneath our window.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night after arriving by ferry at Caen before setting off towards the Loire Valley the following morning. We arrived at the IBIS at about 10pm. It is relatively straightforward to locate if you stay on the peripherique and come off at junction 9B for Porte de Bretagne/Bretteville sur Odon and then head towards McDonald's which is clearly visible.

The IBIS is very well located for onward travel and as mentioned it is immediately next to a McDonald's (we didn't use it) and a Courtepaille restaurant. There is free parking at the IBIS too which is secure.

My only gripe is the fact that we were allocated a smoking room. I presumed, based upon other IBIS hotels I have stayed in, that all rooms would now be non smoking. I headed back to Reception to ask if there were any non smoking rooms available but apparently the hotel was fully booked and I guess we had arrived quite late so we just put up with it. It might be worth ensuring that you mention that you would like a non smoking room when you book.

We didn't have breakfast since we always prefer to find a decent patisserie/boulangerie when we are in France although it seemed to be good value.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room then make sure you specify this when you book. The top floor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

There is nothing remarkable about this hotel. I stayed here with my son while visiting bayeaux and Juno beach.

It was fine, I noticed it is ranked 4th in Caen. The standard in this city must be rather low.

Value is good I must say, if you need a place to sleep for a few nights.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne

Address: 1 Rue du Fresne | Bretteville sur Odon, 14760 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne hotel est quickly accessible from the A13 and A84 motorways. Located in Bretteville-sur-Odon, 10 min from the centre of Caen and 5 min from Caen Carpiquet airport, it has 80 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, a bar open 24/24 with a terrace, free closed parking and a restaurant. Recently built, it offers facilities for disabled guests. Guests on a business trip can use the Wifi wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.