We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne to your Saves list
Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue du Fresne | Bretteville sur Odon, 14760 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Caen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Restful stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped over here twice during the summer on our way from Calais to the Vendee. The staff are very helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable and price very reasonable especially if you book well in advance. The icing on the cake was that attached to the hotel is a Courtepaille Restaurant which is open until ll pm. This proved extremely helpful in June when our tunnel crossing was delayed by 4 hours due to illegal immigrants trying to cross the channel. When we arrived very late we assumed there would be nothing to eat but no the restaurant was open. The fayre is tasty and a reasonable choice reasonably priced. The chain even give you a complimentary green salad while you are choosing from the menu. We will continue to use

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lumleys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Not bad for the price. Enclosed private parking, with a handy Courtepaille restaurant attached. Room had enough space for a travel cot, provided free of charge by the hotel by prior arrangement. Room was pretty clean. Bathroom was a plastic pod, as in many chain hotels, but the water pressure in the shower was great. Extra pillows were provided on request. The duty manager didn't know where there was a shop that might be open on a Sunday (for future reference, we found a Coccinelle behind the Ecole Primaire de la Pigacière). Midday checkout was great, as we were travelling with our 4 month old baby, so I was grateful of the lie-in! Good midway point if travelling from Calais to Brittany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugar2sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent hotel and also the Courte Paille restaurant attached. We booked 20 days in advance which was a very good price. But the price on the day or less than 20 days in advance was expensive at 81 euros for the room. Our room was almost above the restaurant and a little noisy in the morning as the rrefuse bins were almost underneath our window.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laptop705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night after arriving by ferry at Caen before setting off towards the Loire Valley the following morning. We arrived at the IBIS at about 10pm. It is relatively straightforward to locate if you stay on the peripherique and come off at junction 9B for Porte de Bretagne/Bretteville sur Odon and then head towards McDonald's which is clearly visible.

The IBIS is very well located for onward travel and as mentioned it is immediately next to a McDonald's (we didn't use it) and a Courtepaille restaurant. There is free parking at the IBIS too which is secure.

My only gripe is the fact that we were allocated a smoking room. I presumed, based upon other IBIS hotels I have stayed in, that all rooms would now be non smoking. I headed back to Reception to ask if there were any non smoking rooms available but apparently the hotel was fully booked and I guess we had arrived quite late so we just put up with it. It might be worth ensuring that you mention that you would like a non smoking room when you book.

We didn't have breakfast since we always prefer to find a decent patisserie/boulangerie when we are in France although it seemed to be good value.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room then make sure you specify this when you book. The top floor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

There is nothing remarkable about this hotel. I stayed here with my son while visiting bayeaux and Juno beach.

It was fine, I noticed it is ranked 4th in Caen. The standard in this city must be rather low.

Value is good I must say, if you need a place to sleep for a few nights.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cdneurotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after arriving on an afternoon ferry. I would go along with most of the reviews on Tripadvisor. It is close to the Caen ring road at the junction for travel to Brittany, but far enough away to be free of traffic noise. The rooms are in good condition. The free internet worked fairly well. There is ample free parking. There is a busy McDonalds next door. Did not eat in the restaurant.

Nearby is a Carrefour Market and a decent Boulangerie. Although on a trading estat, there is a decent walk nearby through woods.

Overall a good overnight stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
3.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
2.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 42 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
3.2 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#6 of 42 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#11 of 42 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne

Address: 1 Rue du Fresne | Bretteville sur Odon, 14760 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne hotel est quickly accessible from the A13 and A84 motorways. Located in Bretteville-sur-Odon, 10 min from the centre of Caen and 5 min from Caen Carpiquet airport, it has 80 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, a bar open 24/24 with a terrace, free closed parking and a restaurant. Recently built, it offers facilities for disabled guests. Guests on a business trip can use the Wifi wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing