We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Astrid to your Saves list
Hotel Astrid
39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Usual smallish room and bath but our room was clean and bed linens seemed newer. We were there in spring so can't comment on mosquito problem. Small annoyance for us was being just far enough from the train station that we didn't feel like walking. The local tram runs from the station almost to the front door. We never completely understood the ropes but it did the job. ...For what it's worth, we loved Normandy and wished we had more time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Good value price/quality

Rooms and bathrooms are basic, but clean and quite spacious. Main "pros" of the hotel are excellent and very helpful staff and location - just halfway from old bassin Saint-Pierre to Castle (two minutes on foot both).

Hotel is bike-friendly, bicycles spent the night in a garage. There are some restaurants nearby but i recommend to eat in Rue du Vaugueux (east from Castle) - there are plenty of good and various restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Twitchy the Wonder Bunny, a pink and blue globe trotting bunny spent three nights at the Hotel Astrid. The rooms are very dated and could use a make over. The rooms were quiet with not a lot of street noise. There was a problem with mosquitoes. If the windows were left open, you were bitten. If the windows were closed, the rooms were hot and stuffy. Wifi is available and free. The staff was very friendly and helpful.For 7 euro, you can have a continental breakfast delivered to your room. It was very good. The rooms are up a flight of stairs with no elevator so this is not a handicap accessible hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friendly helpful staff and a great location. The rooms are very dated and due for a facelift. Tight fit for a family of 2 adults and 2 children but it did the job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Lots of street noise and bar noise.Had to have window open since no a/c. Internet very unreliable, kept loosing connection. Good central location. Rooms are clean but in need of renovation. Breakfast delivered to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We are a family of 5, 3 small children. The room was not big enough for us. On the positive it is very cheap and central. Negatively, it was very dusty so a nightmare for asthma, it took twenty minutes running the tap for hot water and I'm sure I was being bitten by something.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Normandy on the 6th June.We trawled through most of Caen looking for a room for the night but most were booked up. We came across this hotel which doesnt look anything special from the outside but once you get inside, you immediately feel at home and cosy. the female owner speaks good english and is very friendly. the hotel is clean and simple like most small european hotels but the decor is nice an updated and very pretty and homely. the only gripe i have with the hotel was the bathroom was small even for this type of hotel, but honestly? that is clutching at straws. when i go back to Normandy next year please God, i will stay here again on my last night. thank you for an enjoyable stay in beautiful Normandy

Room Tip: the toilet has a weird flush mechanism, ill let you find it! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Address: 39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.