We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 out of 5 carrots” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astrid

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astrid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Astrid
39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Caen
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 out of 5 carrots”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Twitchy the Wonder Bunny, a pink and blue globe trotting bunny spent three nights at the Hotel Astrid. The rooms are very dated and could use a make over. The rooms were quiet with not a lot of street noise. There was a problem with mosquitoes. If the windows were left open, you were bitten. If the windows were closed, the rooms were hot and stuffy. Wifi is available and free. The staff was very friendly and helpful.For 7 euro, you can have a continental breakfast delivered to your room. It was very good. The rooms are up a flight of stairs with no elevator so this is not a handicap accessible hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friendly helpful staff and a great location. The rooms are very dated and due for a facelift. Tight fit for a family of 2 adults and 2 children but it did the job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Lots of street noise and bar noise.Had to have window open since no a/c. Internet very unreliable, kept loosing connection. Good central location. Rooms are clean but in need of renovation. Breakfast delivered to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We are a family of 5, 3 small children. The room was not big enough for us. On the positive it is very cheap and central. Negatively, it was very dusty so a nightmare for asthma, it took twenty minutes running the tap for hot water and I'm sure I was being bitten by something.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Normandy on the 6th June.We trawled through most of Caen looking for a room for the night but most were booked up. We came across this hotel which doesnt look anything special from the outside but once you get inside, you immediately feel at home and cosy. the female owner speaks good english and is very friendly. the hotel is clean and simple like most small european hotels but the decor is nice an updated and very pretty and homely. the only gripe i have with the hotel was the bathroom was small even for this type of hotel, but honestly? that is clutching at straws. when i go back to Normandy next year please God, i will stay here again on my last night. thank you for an enjoyable stay in beautiful Normandy

Room Tip: the toilet has a weird flush mechanism, ill let you find it! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I opted to stay in Caen after some days in Paris... We found Hotel Astrid on Trip Advisory and chose to stay there because of the positive reviews....

Everything was good.... Madam Lau who checked in us was warm, cheerful and so lovely... We had the room on the first floor which was easy for my husband to carry both our luggages up as they had no elevator. The room was basic and small but it was enough for us. We had the room facing the bus stop. Was concerned about the noise but the double glazed windows, blocked out everything.

We had to find parking for our rental everyday as there was no car park within the hotel but it was easy enough to park on the streets.

Room Tip: We used Caen as our base and we drove to everywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

No frills but friendly, secure and clean. Owner speaks some English, and I speak a little French so communication was fine. Parking on the street, but no problems there. Breakfast at 7 euros is excellent: fresh bread and croissant, yoghurt, cheese, jam, butter, OJ and a hot drink. No dining room, so breakfasts brought to your room.
Great situation, right in the centre of Caen. All in all, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Address: 39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.