We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Astrid to your Saves list
Hotel Astrid
39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Dated but Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friendly helpful staff and a great location. The rooms are very dated and due for a facelift. Tight fit for a family of 2 adults and 2 children but it did the job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Lots of street noise and bar noise.Had to have window open since no a/c. Internet very unreliable, kept loosing connection. Good central location. Rooms are clean but in need of renovation. Breakfast delivered to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We are a family of 5, 3 small children. The room was not big enough for us. On the positive it is very cheap and central. Negatively, it was very dusty so a nightmare for asthma, it took twenty minutes running the tap for hot water and I'm sure I was being bitten by something.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Normandy on the 6th June.We trawled through most of Caen looking for a room for the night but most were booked up. We came across this hotel which doesnt look anything special from the outside but once you get inside, you immediately feel at home and cosy. the female owner speaks good english and is very friendly. the hotel is clean and simple like most small european hotels but the decor is nice an updated and very pretty and homely. the only gripe i have with the hotel was the bathroom was small even for this type of hotel, but honestly? that is clutching at straws. when i go back to Normandy next year please God, i will stay here again on my last night. thank you for an enjoyable stay in beautiful Normandy

Room Tip: the toilet has a weird flush mechanism, ill let you find it! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I opted to stay in Caen after some days in Paris... We found Hotel Astrid on Trip Advisory and chose to stay there because of the positive reviews....

Everything was good.... Madam Lau who checked in us was warm, cheerful and so lovely... We had the room on the first floor which was easy for my husband to carry both our luggages up as they had no elevator. The room was basic and small but it was enough for us. We had the room facing the bus stop. Was concerned about the noise but the double glazed windows, blocked out everything.

We had to find parking for our rental everyday as there was no car park within the hotel but it was easy enough to park on the streets.

Room Tip: We used Caen as our base and we drove to everywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

No frills but friendly, secure and clean. Owner speaks some English, and I speak a little French so communication was fine. Parking on the street, but no problems there. Breakfast at 7 euros is excellent: fresh bread and croissant, yoghurt, cheese, jam, butter, OJ and a hot drink. No dining room, so breakfasts brought to your room.
Great situation, right in the centre of Caen. All in all, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Spent one night here. It is right in the city centre. We parked in a public carpark down the road which was very reasonable. We were in room I on the first floor. It had a tiny balcony and a view over roofs. The heating was effective. It had a shower and a separate toilet.. We didn't have breakfast but it was available. The bed was very comfy. The location is great, close to the shops, the castle, bars and restaurants. The receptionist spoke good English and was very friendly. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Address: 39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.