We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Astrid to your Saves list
Hotel Astrid
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Dated but Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friendly helpful staff and a great location. The rooms are very dated and due for a facelift. Tight fit for a family of 2 adults and 2 children but it did the job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Lots of street noise and bar noise.Had to have window open since no a/c. Internet very unreliable, kept loosing connection. Good central location. Rooms are clean but in need of renovation. Breakfast delivered to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMeurope2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We are a family of 5, 3 small children. The room was not big enough for us. On the positive it is very cheap and central. Negatively, it was very dusty so a nightmare for asthma, it took twenty minutes running the tap for hot water and I'm sure I was being bitten by something.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Normandy on the 6th June.We trawled through most of Caen looking for a room for the night but most were booked up. We came across this hotel which doesnt look anything special from the outside but once you get inside, you immediately feel at home and cosy. the female owner speaks good english and is very friendly. the hotel is clean and simple like most small european hotels but the decor is nice an updated and very pretty and homely. the only gripe i have with the hotel was the bathroom was small even for this type of hotel, but honestly? that is clutching at straws. when i go back to Normandy next year please God, i will stay here again on my last night. thank you for an enjoyable stay in beautiful Normandy

Room Tip: the toilet has a weird flush mechanism, ill let you find it! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastogne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I opted to stay in Caen after some days in Paris... We found Hotel Astrid on Trip Advisory and chose to stay there because of the positive reviews....

Everything was good.... Madam Lau who checked in us was warm, cheerful and so lovely... We had the room on the first floor which was easy for my husband to carry both our luggages up as they had no elevator. The room was basic and small but it was enough for us. We had the room facing the bus stop. Was concerned about the noise but the double glazed windows, blocked out everything.

We had to find parking for our rental everyday as there was no car park within the hotel but it was easy enough to park on the streets.

Room Tip: We used Caen as our base and we drove to everywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

No frills but friendly, secure and clean. Owner speaks some English, and I speak a little French so communication was fine. Parking on the street, but no problems there. Breakfast at 7 euros is excellent: fresh bread and croissant, yoghurt, cheese, jam, butter, OJ and a hot drink. No dining room, so breakfasts brought to your room.
Great situation, right in the centre of Caen. All in all, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavalierattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Spent one night here. It is right in the city centre. We parked in a public carpark down the road which was very reasonable. We were in room I on the first floor. It had a tiny balcony and a view over roofs. The heating was effective. It had a shower and a separate toilet.. We didn't have breakfast but it was available. The bed was very comfy. The location is great, close to the shops, the castle, bars and restaurants. The receptionist spoke good English and was very friendly. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#6 of 42 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 42 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Address: 39, rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caen
#7 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astrid 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing