We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Quatrans

Hotel des Quatrans
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Quatrans to your Saves list
Hotel des Quatrans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We booked this hotel as our 'headquarters' for a 3 day tour along the WW2 museums and D-Day landing beaches of World War II. It is a simple 2/3 star hotel located in the city centre of Caen, close to the Chateau Ducal. The rooms, beds and bathrooms were OK. We did not like the breakfast the first morning so decided to visit a bakery the other morning.

From the hotel, you can easily plan your daytrips along the landing beaches and the numberous memorials along the coast of Normandy. We found this hotel on booking.com when we searched for an Irish Pub in walking distance of the hotel :-). We spend some evening hours in the O'Donnell's Irish Pub nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    48
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
45
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is very central. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Rooms are simple and comfortable. Street parking is easy enough, and there is no charge for parking overnight between 6.30pm and 9.30am. During the day, parking meters are cheap, and the hotel offers a special deal for parking at the nearby Castle. There are lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. Good economical place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were pleased with the Hotel des Quatrans. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet (apart from a dog barking in the room next door one evening – it stopped before it was too late into the evening. The hotel reminds guests about keeping noise levels down at night). A good breakfast was provided and the staff members were courteous and friendly and always willing to give assistance, when required. There is a very good restaurant next door to the hotel. The hotel is centrally placed and in a good location for visiting the various sights, Tourist Office and shopping centre. Trams run frequently from the train station which is about 20-25 minutes walk away (flat, no hills). We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent place to stay in the middle of town. It's super clean, quaint and for 9 euros each offers a nice breakfast. Only down side is street parking fills up after six pm but it is free. (Before 6 pm, you need a parking ticket.) it's close other D Day memorial museum.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better because it only has an elevator fit for two adults without luggage or one pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My traveling companion was wheelchair-bound, with the ability to walk with a cane for 5 minutes. The hotel gave us a first floor room, which was sufficient for our purposes. The hotel's elevator was a small 1 person lift, could never have accomodated a wheelchair. The staff was friendly and breakfast tasty. Hotel is perfectly located to experience Caen's historic buildings as a pedestrian or in a wheelchair. Rooms were small but clean, bed very comfortable. WiFi was strong and free. We lucked out in finding this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot. Very close to the castle and good bars and restaurants.
Its very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night before we made our onward journey but it was comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very well placed to the main attractions which all have a Norman flavour. The castle is virtually across the road and it is worth 2 or 3 hours to look around. Much of Caen is spread out so you need to use either the trams or taxis, again easily accessible from this hotel. There is a very convenient car park under the castle which is very convenient and the hotel had a discount arrangement The hotel itself is a bit sterile. Windows open to allow fresh air, much appreciated A bit dated decor wise and in the plumbing etc. Staff are helpful and attentive. The renovations are proceeding in slow motion. There didn’t seem to be a lot of life, eg not many at breakfast, which was OK-if a little sparse. My advice is eat early and look outside the hotel for other meals. The colour schemes in the breakfast room etc are a bit bizarre. At the weekend, Caen has one of the most extensive and impressive open air markets we had ever seen. Hundreds of stalls of all kinds and good for picnic provisions and children and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Quatrans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Quatrans

Address: 17 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Quatrans 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Quatrans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Quatrans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.