We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall, convenient downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Moderne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Moderne to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Moderne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Boulevard Marechal Leclerc, 14000 Caen, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent overall, convenient downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very good location downtown Caen; easy walk to nearby resturants, attractions (Chateau-built by William the Congeror and the two very large Abbeys) and the Caen military museum. Parking could be a chore, as the hotel has limited number of spots - check with them as to availability. Rooms are neat, pretty good size, however no a/c (wasn't necessary as bit chilly when we were there). Nice breakfast selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    67
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
39
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We always select a hotel with a minimum of 4 Stars while traveling in order to have air conditioning available. Although this hotel was ranked by Trip Advisor as a 4 Star (and I note that it still does), a letter of excellence from Trip Advisor that was prominently displayed at the check-in desk indicated it was only a 3 Star facility. The exterior of the hotel had 4 stars also. The hotel was drab, and dark and the rooms, although clean, were definitely primitive. The hotel staff was nice but it didn't make up for the lack of air and the dinginess of the facility. Attempts to cool off the room by opening the windows were unsuccessful because the hotel is across the street from a bar and the noise coming from it, particularly around 2:00 A.M., was so loud it was impossible to leave them open. We cancelled our second night there because of these issues, even though we planned to stay in the Normandy area for several days. Trip Advisor needs to reconcile their ratings on this place. It is definitely not a 4 Star, and it is stretching to be even a 3 Star.

Room Tip: If there are rooms not facing the main street, get one of them to avoid the noise from the bar acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We got for a good price compared to other top rated hotels in Caen and decided to take a chance. Very good hotel, big room, good bathroom, pretty good breakfast even if a bit expensive - 15 euros- quite normal these days in France. Coffee/tea maker, fridge and safe in the room. It was a very convenient location in the center of town and near the largest Cathedral, many restaurants and the fortress of William the Conqueror. Bus across the street goes to the WWII museum every 40 minutes for 1.35 euros. Taxi from train station was 8 Euros 1.1 miles. Friendly and helpful staff with fairly good English.

Only complaints - slight smell of finishing the wood floors - noticeable at first entry. We didn't ask to change rooms and didn t notice it after first entry. Also they used liquid soap and didn't supply separate shampoo and conditioner.

Good bathroom, desk, table, tv - huge compared to Paris hotels and half the price. Monoprix dept store and grocery store across the street. Nice closet with shelves and hangers. Generally we were very pleased with this hotel and would gladly stay again if it is no more expensive than the Mercure or the other Best Western. Some less laudatory reviews seem to have been from guests who paid more than we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We received a warm and friendly welcome to the hotel by Julie, who was kind enough to direct us to restaurants and sights in the city.

The room was lovely, no faults. Comfortable beds, with all the amenities that you require. No iron in the room, but it was delivered in minutes when I requested it. The room and bathroom were clean and warm.

The location of the hotel is perfect as you can easily walk to main bars/restaurant areas. At the end of our evening, we phoned room service and had some drinks delivered to our room.

At check out, I was asked kindly if I enjoyed my stay by Alice. All well very professional and accommodating to our needs.

The hotel is also near a Sunday market which is great for a real Normandy market experience.

I would return to this hotel for sure if I return to Caen.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is quite average and overrated. It is good enough to be classified as a three-star hotel, but definitely not four, as is proudly stated on their invoices. Luckily, we stayed for only one night touring around Normandy.
The common areas are drab. The room #405 was clean, but smallish and not very comfortable. Some pieces of furniture were in need of replacement. Surely, it wasn’t worth 171 Euro paid (breakfast not included).
However, there are two positive aspects about the hotel – the central location and the staff. If you are arriving by car, make sure to get driving instructions from the hotel. It is located in the pedestrian only area, so the entrance to the garage is really difficult to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I used the Moderne as a base for tours to the landing beaches. The front desk clerk made our tour reservations for us. Also she made a restaurant reservation for us. She could not have been more helpful. Our room was OK. Not great but nothing to complain about. We really enjoyed the breakfast room. The selection was good, the setting very relaxing. The Moderne in right in the middle of town within walking distance of historic sites, restaurants and shopping. I would come back again if I have the chance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moderne

Address: 116 Boulevard Marechal Leclerc, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Moderne 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moderne Hotel Caen
Best Western Hotel Moderne
Best Western Caen
Caen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.