We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Hotel Bristol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 rue du 11-November, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Junction City, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very cute hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed one night on our week in France. The young lady at the desk was more than helpful and her cheery disposition made us comfortable right away. The hotel was like going back in time a little. Very authentic, reminded us of staying in a family owned place rather than a chain hotel. The room was small, but very comfortable. The shower was absolutely amazing and the entire place was extremely clean! We enjoyed our stay very much. The private parking in the back was a plus, not to mention we didn't have to pay for it. The street was a little noisy at night, but nothing we couldn't sleep through. We personally enjoy hotels that are family operated and believe in customer service, we want to feel like they want our business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
37
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltspring Is.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Rooms were small but clean. Our bathroom was very small and basic but provided what we needed. Breakfast had all that was required. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Hotel is located within 10 minutes walking distance to shopping area and restaurants one way and 10 minutes to the railway station the other way. WiFi in rooms with electrical outlets close to bed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a week long tour of Normandy and Brittany. The main reason for stopping here was to visit the D-Day beaches and Bayeux tapestry and I'm so glad we did. Nice comfortable bed, clean room and nice bathroom. During the day, if you are using the car, you can park outside for up to 2 hours on a meter, or overnight the hotel let you park in a shares carpark round the back if there's room. The reception area is welcoming and bright and staff were friendly. The only down side is the noise coming from the bar across the street. We made the mistake of leaving the window open on the first night and the noise was unbearable. The second night we shut the windows and the shutters and didn't hear a thing... Ok as long as its not too hot! Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster-on-Sea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Whilst we were travelling to Brittany our motorcycle broke down on the motorway near Caen and our Recovery breakdown booked us into this hotel , it was very well presented and a very friendly atmosphere .The owners couldn't do enough for us ,they were very helpful and nothing was too much for them ...such lovely people in a family run hotel ,would definately stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcore, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Modern hotel situated just north of the canal, close to railway station and 12 minutes walk to the castle (or by tram in neighbouring street). Large gated parking to the rear. Some closed garages for €10 per day (reserve in advance if possible). Rather small but spotless bedroom. Surprisingly roomy bathroom with twin washbasin & separate WC. Excellent buffet breakfast (cold) with fresh orange juice and carafe coffee. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sufficient hotel, pretty quaint and on the older side. The staff was nice and spoke English. If you rent a car you can put it in their garage there for 10 Euro a day. They offer breakfast for an additional fee, we didn't try it as there is a grocery store right behind the hotel and other places to eat at. The room was a bit on the small side but did the job, it was clean, offered free wi fi and the hotel itself was within walking distance to various historical spots in Caen. Beautiful city worth seeing, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Ideally situated in a quiet location, within walking distance of everything. Room comfortable (toilet very small- but not a major problem, bathroom and room both spacious). Staff friendly and helpful (despite our lack of French). Train for a day trip to Bayeux was very easy and well worth it! Plenty to see in Caen too. Normandy beaches tour organised through the Museum of Peace was informative and interesting. Thoroughly recommend this hotel as a good base for a few days to discover this region.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 31 rue du 11-November, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.