We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Caen Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adagio Caen Centre to your Saves list
Adagio Caen Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Caen
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We rented an apartment for 2 nights. The staff was very nice and the apartment was clean and spacious. My only complaint would be that the sofa bed did not have enough linens for 2 people to sleep. My 1 son had to make due and sleep on the sofa with no sheets!

Location wise, it is a nice short walk to restaurants, the train station, and to shopping. I enjoyed Caen a lot and I would go back there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    107
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
70
102
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varberg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very helpful staff, the rooms is clean, well equip t, easy parking. lactation was vary god, walking distant to harbor , restaurants and bars, and still quiet at night, and fast access to highway if you want to goto WWII monument, Caen has so mush to offer,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was extremely comfortable at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the kitchenette was very handy. The walk to the nearest grocery store was a little far though and more difficult because we were so tired when we arrived. There are quite a number of nearby restaurants to choose from....be prepared for higher prices to dine out compared to the US. The rooms require the key to access the electricity in the room, thereby saving electricity when leaving the rooms...very smart planning. Security is further enhanced using your room key to access the front door of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Caen is a charming city, so if you are looking for a provincial feel I would book somewhere closer to the center of town. The rooms and hotel are clean but that is about all I can say. The gentleman who helped us on the first day was VERY nice but otherwise the staff is NOT personable. Also, if you lose your key card prepare to wait as the staff is not prompt in ringing you in and can be rather testy once you are in. The laundry room has one washer and dryer so if you are planning on doing any laundry get there early and bring your money - it's very expensive. The beds are as hard as a rock. Thank goodnes I was exhausted at the end of the day, otherwise I would have had a difficult time sleeping. We were excited about coming to Caen, which is lovely, but the hotel experience pretty much put a damper on that part of the trip. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, request a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments.
We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment, and in particular with the personnel and the quality of the bedding. Please accept our sincere apologies.
We would like to assure you that your comments about the bedding have been forwarded on to the relevant departement of our head office and a meeting was organised with the team to discuss about your comments in order to improve the quality of the service we provide.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Adagio Caen Centre.

Best regards
Jonathan GUILLOUX - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is within five minutes walk of the train station. We had a slight problem when we first arrived as the front door can only be accessed by security card and when we rang the bell nobody answered. After checking in which was welcoming, we were pleasantly surprised with our room. Very spacious as this is a Murphy bed room. When you pull bed down you lose your sofa and room is a lot smaller. Fridge, microwave and small cooking appliances are included. Beautiful river view from our room. Very central to main shopping square with lots of eateries and shops. Very suitable stay, don't expect 5 star. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed one night on the day we arrived in France, on our way to Brittany coast. Lots to see in town and the view was great. Loved the corner room. Staff spoke English, were helpful and kind. Very clean room with kitchenette and grocery right next door. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Corner suite above the Quai was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The room was nice but we had a sofa bed which was hard. There was no cleaning of rooms so we had the same towels for 4 nights. When I asked about this I found the female receptionist unhelpful and a little rude. She said it was not included in our rate. Parking was extra money 7€ a night. Breakfast was €11 per person. Kitchenette was good feature but if your bin gets full after 3 days expect to have it in your room as your room will not be cleaned apparently. Not sure about toilet rolls. Don't do what we did and book more than one night...just in case you have our experience too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments.

We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We would like to assure you that the necessary measures have been taken with our team in order to improve the quality of the service we provide.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Adagio Caen Centre.

Best regards
Jonathan GUILLOUX
General Manager Aparthotel Adagio Caen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Caen Centre

Address: 1 Quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Caen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adagio Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Caen Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.