We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Caen
southampton, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We wanted to stay in the centre of Caen so chose this hotel as part of a ferry package and were not disappointed. We had a room in 'the tower' which overlooked the castle and street and the room was a good size for Europe and was spotless and light and airy and if you want a larger room, dont book in a historic converted building! The staff were welcoming and great hosts and although French is not our first language, the receptionist appreciated our efforts and spoke in English when we did not undertsnad without patronising. She explained the local amenities hotel and showed us to the tower (sounds more ominous than it was!). The restaurant was expensive but worth every penny and again the hosts were helpful with menus and the food was excellent. As for location, we were not disappointed. Opposite the castle, central to the cathedrals (10-15 minute walk) and the Peace Museum was about a 30 minuyte walk even though we were advised it was longer. Also central to shops and most importantly a couple of excellent patisseries. We only discovered on the last night that there is a fantastic selection of restaurants very near (from the hotel walk past the front of the castle to other side and take the second left) Its like a theme park interpretation of France but authentic. Overall we were completely satisfied with the hotel and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for a tower room overlooking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    73
    45
    14
    9
See reviews for
14
79
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Small clean rooms. Meals and drinks very expensive: presse beer £9 a glass. Coffee about £4.00 depending on type. Don't use the swiming pool as it is appears free, but then you get charged for use of the integral sauna at £30. Only 2 people can use it at a time, and it has to be pre-booked. Dinner service very slow but attentive and doesn't begin until 7.30pm. 2 people had upset stomaches after eating beef tartar or tripe the previous evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I booked at the Best Western in Caen the day before I needed it (online) and had zero hassle about the reservation. The location was right across the stress from the local Chateau (we walked over).
In summary:
Pros: Rate, location, quiet, decent bed, very clean, nice flatscreen TV w/ CNN, Free WIFI, restaurant in hotel is very very nice.
Cons: Sheets not so soft, bathroom hairdryer had the power of 10 children blowing on my face at once, bathroom needed a facelift and the lighting was terrible.

I hear the spa is very nice but we did not have time to try it.

I would stay here again, its comfortable but missed out on a few amenities that would have given it a 4 star.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel tries to catch customers with its new Spa amenities and it comes as a surprise on the arrival that using the facilities is not included in the already high price. We felt ripped off. When mentioning this to the manager, we were treated very rudely.

Like the others said before: rooms are small, esp. WC, no complimentaries are included - you'd get better value for your money in many other hotels in an equally central location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Le Dauphin in Caen October 22 and 23. We were in Caen to view the memorials, beaches and cliffs of D-Day and this hotel was a perfect location for us. We were a bit "put off" when our travel agent said he'd booked us into a Best Western since we don't usually use chain hotels; however, Le Dauphin may be part of a chain but it has an independent, eccentric feeling. The hotel is made from a priory and chapel so there are quirks to it. Our room was small but well decorated and thoughtfully designed. We are in good health and fairly strong which came in handy when we had to take all our luggage up two flights of stairs in the tower - but we loved the view from upstairs. The parking lot is tiny and there was construction occupying a number of the spaces but it didn't present a problem. Our dinner at the restaurant was delicious, beautifully plated and nicely served. All in all, we would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have just come back from a short break in Caen at the Dauphin; the hotel was very well located, near the Castle, near the Vaugueux district which is renown for its many restaurants and near the lovely shops. There were building works outside but we had no problem in parking which is a relief in a big city such as Caen. The receptionist was most welcoming and friendly, as were all the staff we encountered. The hotel has a lovely, well decorated restaurant with a most appetising menu and delicious food. The room was a little small but we expected it as it is often the case in the old town of most cities. The loo was a little too small and had no basin; saying this, I am 5.7 tall and my husband 6.2 and we did not not have real problem as some people mentioned it in their reviews. The breakfast was absolutely delicious; all ingredients were fresh and there was a great choice of regional products and homemade pastry; it was certainly worth every penny of the 13 euros we paid for it. We would be delighted to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed in the old "priory" part of this hotel for one night and unfortunately it was one night too many. The hotel was central but the room was small and overpriced and the separate toilet was so tiny it was almost impossible not to put your knees through the door (I agree with funnybunnyPortsmouth). My girlfriend happened to read in the brochure that there was complimentary tea and coffee available. I went downstairs to the restaurant in the morning and asked the waitress who gave me a tray. I helped myself to a cup of tea and cup of coffee which I then took upstairs. As we were checking out my girlfriend noticed we had been charged 7.50 Euros for tea and coffee When she pointed out this to the middle aged female receptionist she immediately became agressive and started shouting that they only provided a kettle and we should not have got it from the restaurant and it was not complimentary. I told her the brochure did not make this clear. She then went upstairs and got the brochure saying it was very clearly written and we would have to pay. The chef then joined in shouting we should not have left England if we couldn't afford a cup of tea and coffee. The whole situation became very tense and in the end the woman said we could pay half. We settled the bill and couldn't have left fast enough. As we were leaving the hotel we were greeted to the sight of the woman demostrating a typical French rude sign by bending her arm at the elbow. We have never experienced anything like this anywhere in the world and I am glad to say that the rest of the French people we have come across have all been charming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure

Address: 29 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very heart of the city of William the Conqueror, you will be charmed by the warm atmosphere of this former priory. The hotel is well appointed place to discover Normandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Dauphin Hotel Caen
Best Western Hotel Caen
Best Western Caen
Caen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.