We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for Normandy cycling trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malherbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Malherbe to your Saves list
Hotel Malherbe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Place Marechal Foch, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Caen City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Caen
Nosterfield End
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal base for Normandy cycling trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

5 cycling friends and I have just stayed at Hotel Malherbe.

Good value.

Located by Hippodrome in Caen. Does the job.

Amandine on reception and Tony (who helped us with our bikes) were exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    62
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
55
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It is interesting to note that this hotel was the headquarters of the German high command on D-Day. It was destroyed by Allied bombing but rebuilt. The rooms are a decent size but poorly ventilated. It's an easy walk to the Port and several local attractions. Our travel group received a complimentary breakfast that was okay, at best. Food was not replenished, when depleted, and the serving staff was apparently there only to remove plates from the tables. We didn't take any meals in the restaurant but some of our group said it was good while others said it wasn't. There were other recommended restaurants nearby so we took advantage of them.

Room Tip: Choose the lowest floor you can. The lift carries only a few people at a time and we found it typica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The food was great, but the menu didn't describe it properly. Chocolate pudding , not for me. Then I saw it served to another diner. More like a chocolate tart with chocolate filling, a scoop of ice cream, an equal amount of whipped cream, and chocolate drizzeled over top.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKHAM
Level Contributor
386 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The staff are friendly but not helpful. in typical French fashion, on arriving as guests, we were left on our own to lug suitcases up approximately 10 steps to the lobby while the front desk staff "busied" themselves with paperwork, ignoring us until we were at the counter. The front desk staff were friendly but singularly unknowledgeable about even the top Caen attractions, checking the internet to find out. Hefty breakfast charges automatically appeared on the bill even though we never ate there, but were immediately removed as requested. There is internet but somewhat slow. Rooms are small but not sardine can size. The staff charged with room clean up were exceptionally inept, always forgetting towels, soap, or trashcan cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

room overlooked square and was nicely furnished bathroom spacious and clean a little dark but room was comfortable breakfast was good staff friendly and helpful. area was quiet most restaurants were a few blocks away would stay there again

Room Tip: our room facing square had a larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night after travelling up from the loire valley without reservations, the guy on reception was really helpful, polite and cheerful.Booked five of us into excellent rooms for a very good price.The rooms were very clean large bathroom with huge amounts of towels and freebies.Coffee and tea facilities.Breakfast was included with a good choice.Good central location.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caen
2.8 mi away
Hotel Libera Caen Colombelles
Hotel Libera Caen Colombelles
#1 of 1 in Colombelles
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 43 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 43 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malherbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malherbe

Address: 4, Place Marechal Foch, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Caen City Centre)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malherbe 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Caen City Centre is located right in the centre of town, directly in front of the racing grounds and very close to the centre 'Expo-Congres'. The hotel has 88 rooms (48 rooms with air-conditioning). All rooms are equipped with TV satellite & wireless internet access. A hair dryer is also provided in each room. The hotel bar and the restaurant 'Bistrot Foch' are ideal places to relax after a hard day at work. For meetings and events, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms perfectly equipped for small meeting groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Malherbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Caen
Caen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malherbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.