We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't skip the hotel restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malherbe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Malherbe to your Saves list
Hotel Malherbe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Place Marechal Foch, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Caen City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Caen
New Bern, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't skip the hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The food was great, but the menu didn't describe it properly. Chocolate pudding , not for me. Then I saw it served to another diner. More like a chocolate tart with chocolate filling, a scoop of ice cream, an equal amount of whipped cream, and chocolate drizzeled over top.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    62
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
55
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MARKHAM
Level Contributor
400 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The staff are friendly but not helpful. in typical French fashion, on arriving as guests, we were left on our own to lug suitcases up approximately 10 steps to the lobby while the front desk staff "busied" themselves with paperwork, ignoring us until we were at the counter. The front desk staff were friendly but singularly unknowledgeable about even the top Caen attractions, checking the internet to find out. Hefty breakfast charges automatically appeared on the bill even though we never ate there, but were immediately removed as requested. There is internet but somewhat slow. Rooms are small but not sardine can size. The staff charged with room clean up were exceptionally inept, always forgetting towels, soap, or trashcan cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

room overlooked square and was nicely furnished bathroom spacious and clean a little dark but room was comfortable breakfast was good staff friendly and helpful. area was quiet most restaurants were a few blocks away would stay there again

Room Tip: our room facing square had a larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night after travelling up from the loire valley without reservations, the guy on reception was really helpful, polite and cheerful.Booked five of us into excellent rooms for a very good price.The rooms were very clean large bathroom with huge amounts of towels and freebies.Coffee and tea facilities.Breakfast was included with a good choice.Good central location.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed two nights. Excellent accommodations, room very clean, bed perfect. Staff was very helpful and spoke English. The parking garage was very handy and easy to use both getting in and out. Breakfast was OK, lots to choose from. We would certainly stay at this hotel again if we go back to the Normandy area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pierre de Juillers, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here last night with our two children (11 and 8yrs) and were given adjoining rooms for 125€ which we thought was great value. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms were well equipped with tea/coffee facilities, bottled water (which they replenished free of charge) and we had a shower in one room and a bath in the other. Very comfortable beds, a double in one and two singles in the other. The rooms were fresh, modern and finished to a high standard. The staff were helpful and welcoming. The hotel is a short walk to William the conquerors castle. We stayed on a Sunday and so did not have to pay for parking. Parking is public and payment is by machine but immediately next to the hotel, so convenient.
We ate in the hotel bistro since all the restaurants in town were closed on Sunday evenings. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and service was quick and efficient. The menu was simple - steak frites, salads and pastas but tasty and nicely cooked. We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to others as a good stopover the night before taking the ferry to the UK or as a base to visit Caen and the surrounding area. Caen is a lovely city with lots of open pedestrianised areas, a modern tram system, lots of cycle ways around the city and the bike hire system. The buildings were rebuilt after the destruction of world war 2 in a sensible and thoughtful manner and in keeping with the old style of tall stone buildings with slate roofs. Very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caen
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.2 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 43 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Libera Caen Colombelles
Hotel Libera Caen Colombelles
#1 of 1 in Colombelles
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malherbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malherbe

Address: 4, Place Marechal Foch, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Caen City Centre)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malherbe 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Caen City Centre is located right in the centre of town, directly in front of the racing grounds and very close to the centre 'Expo-Congres'. The hotel has 88 rooms (48 rooms with air-conditioning). All rooms are equipped with TV satellite & wireless internet access. A hair dryer is also provided in each room. The hotel bar and the restaurant 'Bistrot Foch' are ideal places to relax after a hard day at work. For meetings and events, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms perfectly equipped for small meeting groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Malherbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Caen
Caen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malherbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.