We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Setting For Sightseeing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malherbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Malherbe to your Saves list
Hotel Malherbe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Place Marechal Foch, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Caen City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient Setting For Sightseeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Sunday afternoon. There was a sign at the desk to call an extension number to get service. That was a bit disconcerting, but a nice gentleman soon appeared. Since there is free parking on weekends (until Monday at 0930), we were able to park right in front of the hotel. They have space in a parking garage not far away. There is a restaurant on site, but closed on Sundays. As is usual in France, there was no food to be had until 7 PM except in a deli. We were hungry as we had been hiking all day around the D-Day sites. Walked in the direction of the train station and found a small deli. The room was beautifully decorated with fast internet service. We had breakfast the next morning at the hotel. It was average in quality and quite expensive. The hotel is located by the river; is not far from the train station; and within walking distance of all the major tourist stops. With four black cars parked in front and being located by the large memorial to General Marshall Foch, it reminded me of an embassy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    61
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
54
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had the misfortune to stay there with a group The organiser produced a Menu for Tour groups 2013 it had 9 starters 4 meat 3 fish mains and 7 desserts However on arrival we were told what we would be having and also the next day but for the 3rd/4th night we were given the option of 2 starter 1 main(or fish) 2 desserts Breakfast was fine "Health and Safety" would have a field day with lack of hand rails and grab rails in the showers etc OK but not worth the money!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the center of CAEN and some important shopping points are very close. The Ferry location across the ocean is also walkable. Rooms are very clean and perfect. But the price is surely on the higher side for whatever they offer. However if you are on business trip enjoy the stay in this hotel forgetting the price. That is what happened in my case.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

For me perfect hotel.(location/quality) Coming back from office always lot's of parking space outside.Has a good restaurant/bar. Walking distance from city center.
Breakfast/coffee are good and staff is very friendly. Used this hotel since a long time now, since it was formerly Holiday Inn. Since it has rebranded to Best Western no big changes. For me location/qualtiy-value is still at the same level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stopped here on our way through Normandy for one night, I walked in late at night and asked for a room, the gentleman at the desk was very friendly and helpful, and worked with me to give me the best rate for the night. The room was very nice and clean. Breakfast was included in our room and was simple continental style. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our entire trip though due to traveling through so many areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while exploring Normandy and the d-day beaches. The hotel is in a good location in Caen, about five-ten mins walk from the centre. The hotel offers parking for €0.85 an hour, however there is plenty of on street parking that is free from 7.30pm until 9.30am. The hotel is clean, with average sized rooms. However, there is no air con - the first night we had the window open and got eaten alive by a mosquito. Not the hotels fault of course, but the room was quite warm. The staff at reception were very helpful in general, the first day we had a problem with the safe and Remy came up immediately to fix it.
Overall a clean, quiet hotel in a good location. We didn't eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent two nights here while exploring the D-Day beaches, etc. It was a convenient base. The hotel is located in downtown Caen near the Hippodorome and within walking distance to the old city center. The hotel was clean and all was well with our stay. It's not the Four Seasons and we did not expect it to be. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A good choice if you're going to be staying in Caen. the hotel offers a parkign garegae for a fee, but there is adequate on street parking and it is free from 1900 to 0930.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Malherbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malherbe

Address: 4, Place Marechal Foch, 14000 Caen, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Caen City Centre)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malherbe 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Caen City Centre is located right in the centre of town, directly in front of the racing grounds and very close to the centre 'Expo-Congres'. The hotel has 88 rooms (48 rooms with air-conditioning). All rooms are equipped with TV satellite & wireless internet access. A hair dryer is also provided in each room. The hotel bar and the restaurant 'Bistrot Foch' are ideal places to relax after a hard day at work. For meetings and events, the hotel has 8 meeting rooms perfectly equipped for small meeting groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Malherbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Caen
Caen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malherbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.