We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance to your Saves list
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Newark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Perfectly situated beside the canal and marina near the town centre. We had a very comfortable suite ("superior room") with an excellent bed. The room was well equipped with a Nespresso machine and soft drinks in the fridge. The bathroom has a bath and separate shower with twin washbasins; a separate toilet. Overlooking a busy road junction the room was well insulated from outside noise. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. On site carparking at a small charge.
We stayed here before catching the ferry to Portsmouth the next day - an easy 15 minute drive away.
Our only point of criticism for the hotel to note is that the carpeting on the long corridor on the third floor was scruffy and unwelcoming, giving a poor impression. Caen is an interesting and beautiful historic town. I would love to go again and would definitely stay again at the Mercure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    178
    64
    23
    8
See reviews for
45
150
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I found this to be an excellent hotel ,staff were very friendly and very helpful with directions to various attractions ,there is also a rack full of leaflets telling you what the area has to offer for the tourist.Rooms are nice clean and well maintained.Continental breakfast was nice also.Within a short walking distance are umpteen restaurants bars etc.Railway Station is about 15-20 min walk .
Hotel has a underground car park ,with plenty of room .

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking the marina .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Mercure is very clean and the rooms are good-sized. The front desk staff were all very courteous and spoke very good English. The desk staff were also very helpful with directions to museums and restaurants. If you are driving, the hotel has an attached parking deck which is very convenient since parking in this part of Caen is a challenge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I ended up staying there entirely by chance. We had booked three nights at a Bed and Breakfast "just outside" of Caen (actually about a 45 minute drive.) The Bed and Breakfast turned out to be a disaster and we ended up driving around in the rain looking for a place to stay. Luckily we found the Mercure in Caen.

The desk clerk listened to our story and found us a room. Although we did not have a reservation, we were given a room at the reserved price. She knew we were desperate but she did not take advantage of us and I will always be grateful for that. She also let us know that since we were both over 60, we could have breakfast for free. The breakfast was, by the way, one of the best that I have ever had in a European hotel and would have been well worth the cost had we been charged the usual rate.

Parking is difficult around the hotel and I strongly suggest that you use the underground parking garage for ten Euros a night. The hotel is centrally located with several cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel restaurant is also very good.

Our room was large and clean--the same could be said for the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we slept well every night of our stay.

What makes the Mercure truly exceptional is the people who work there. One example: There was a train strike while we were in Normandy and we had already purchased tickets for our return trip to Paris. We asked the desk clerk if he had heard anything about the trains through Caen. He asked us when we were leaving and then called the train station to see if our train would be running on time (it was the only one that was.) This was typical of everyone that we interacted with during our stay. They always offered to do more than you asked.

The hotel is a great value and I do not hesitate to recommend it. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if I returned to Caen.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the marina is quite pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent 3 nights here during a tour and the stay was really good. The rooms are spacious, clean, recently renovated and we had a nice view on the canal. The breakfast was good with everything you wish to have on the morning. The location is the best, right in the city center, walking by all the shops and restaurants. The bar is also very cosy and nice to have a beer upon return of a nice day of visit. Perfect base to discover Normandy in the day and explore Caen at night. I recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

i had a privilege room for six days 10 out 10 for everything good service good room good staff the restaurant next to the ibiss needs sorting but just over the road there is a good one good sea food and try the creps they are top notch I cant remember the name but you will find it full say no more

Room Tip: dident go to pool or fitness centre so could not comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Address: 1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Caen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.