We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance to your Saves list
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Caen
York, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location, very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was a good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Large rooms and excellent shower in the bathroom. I would definitely choose this hotel again. A perfect location in the centre of Caen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    178
    64
    23
    8
See reviews for
45
150
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English Lake District
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I like the Mercure chain. I know it is all part of the vastly successful Accor empire: but I like staying at a Mercure - you are left to decide what YOU want to do. Excellent - either on holiday or on busihness.
Caen - nearly 70 years later - shows her dreadful wounds from WW2: she shows them with dignity, with honour. Brits take note: WE HAD TO BOMB THE PLACE FLAT ... but that is something we can all now, mercifully, set to one side.
The city is vibrant, its post war reconstruction interesting, the old parts are just as a French City would have been in the 1930s.
YOU ONLY NEED A DAY IN CAEN: but you can easily make the city your HQ to tour Normandy and maybe stay up to four nights.
The Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance is so easy to get to, that you do not need to worry. Avoid the Sunday Market! But even then, you can get access to the hotel's superb underground car park: plenty of spaces.
I stayed for two nights in a PRIVELEGE NON SMOKING ROOM WITH ONE DOUBLE BED. Wow! What a beautifully designed room and bathroom it was. Impressive: facing the inner "courtyard" [the roof terrace over the underground carpark] is dead quiet at night, and the excellent light-tight curtains make the room pitch black.
Breakfast is super, and the staff, all through the hotel, are helpful, friendly, and efficient.
From the hotel, you can walk to all the major attractions. If you are elderly or disabled, you might take a taxi to L'abbey des Hommes (a good mile away through the city), where you can experience the gritty simplicity of 11 Century architecture, and see the Conqueror's tomb.
The Normans know how to eat! I leave you to discover how, and where.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

Very efficient hotel. The food was good and I had no problems with the service. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a perfectly adequate hotel. It's actually in a nice location, along the waterway, close to all of the sites - and, fortunately, near a lot of good restaurants. The dinner we had on-site, on the night we spent at the hotel as part of a tour, was awful - in fact, we left and wandered out into town and had a second, superb meal, at a restaurant called Beef & Cow. The breakfast was also skimpy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian in london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night only, so my views may not be representative overall what this hotel has to offer.
This hotel is very central, close to canal, walking distance to castle, town and all the bars there are. ( very quiet nightlife).
The rooms are clean and well appointed. The corridors are dark and the lights come on as you walk, but can be of concern to weak-hearted.
The toilet is ( or was in my room) separate from bath and wash basin.
There is a coffee maker and a safe in the room. Flat screen tv with some English and German channels in addition to local. Basic wifi is free but if you pay 5 euro per day, better quality wifi is available.
I did not eat here but there was a big tour bus and its occupants were having dinner in a large hall. The breakfast area is very functional. I think the tour folks were at breakfast very early and by 8, things were getting scarse already. Guess go early. Ok-ish continental breakfast.
180-200 euros seems a bit steep for this hotel but I have no idea how others hotels cost or stand vis-a-vis this one.

Room Tip: Insist on canal or road facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed at the Mecure for 1 night on a golf trip. The location was excellent right by the marina and close to restaurants and bars. We payed 70 Euros for our rooms which were a good size with very comfortable beds and a great shower.

The rooms were very quiet overlooking a courtyard at the rear of the hotel (room 323), not a great view but absolutely silent.

There is a huge Sunday market just outside which begins opening around 9am which sells everything!

Hotel had it's own car park charged at 10 euros per night

The staff were generally good but we were mis-informed that we had pre-paid breakfast the night before only to be told in the morning that we hadn't so it did make our morning a bit rushed.

Overall a decent place to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Address: 1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Caen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.