We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moving exhibition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memorial of Caen

Memorial of Caen
Esplanade General Eisenhower | CS 55026, 14 050 Caen, France
332 31 06 06 45
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Memorial of Caen like an insider
Top Rated
$205*
and up
Normandy D-Day Battlefields and Beaches Day Trip
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Caen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the origins of the Second World War to the fall of the Berlin Wall, the Mémorial de Caen tells you the story of the XXth century.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very moving exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This museum tells the whole story of the D-Day landings, the campaign in Normandy, and beyond. It is completely absorbing and moving.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    261
    91
    34
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WWII Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited museum and also took a guided tour to the D-Day beaches. The guided tour was great and very informative, maybe a bit too short and fast, but considering the fact that on the same day we also had to visit the museum you just can't stay longer on the beaches.
After short lunch in cafeteria we started watching exhibitions and suddenly (after a few hours) we realized that working hours are almost over. We were lucky, that on this weekend they had comics festival and both films were showed in the same place, otherwise we wouldn't managed to see both of them. Ok, maybe we are slow :)
Don't plan seeing anything else on that day.
The place is really worth visiting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Huge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visited here with our eleven month old baby so didn't spend as long as we could have.

Buggies aren't allowed in the museum but I think they loan/hire out baby carriers (we had our own).

The museum is laid out so you follow a path through the various areas which cover a wide array of war based topics. The displays are excellent with lots of personal items / individual's stories combining to tell a much bigger story.

We could easily have spent much longer here and I think repeat visits would be necessary to truly appreciate everything displayed. A very thought provoking and excellently presented museum, educational and emotional.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew Gardens
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Day at the Mémorial de Caen and the D-Day Landing Beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We took the 111 euro tour on June 10, 2012. Our wonderful guide, Jean Francois, first took us to the Mémorial de Caen Museum where we toured the Museum, and were treated to a wonderful lunch. Then Jean Francois took us in a minivan, visiting the German Bunker sites at Longues-sur-Mer and the artificial harbor the British constructed at Arromandes. We went to Colleville-sur-Mer and the American cemetery, a very moving experience. Then we went to Omaha beach and saw more German Bunker sites in Pointe du Hoc that U.S. Ranger forces tried to take out. Jean Francois made the day even more enjoyable, adding interesting insights, and even showing us the seaside village where he resides with his family.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very large, needs two trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Wasn't expecting this museum to be quite this large. There is a LOT of information to take in, loads to see and memorial gardens as well.
I think this will take a second viewing from our family to appreciate just how much there is. What we did see was very good, there is a lot of information about the plight of the Jews, the book bag dropped by a small Jewish child who never lived to reclaim it, is one of the items in the museum that will bring a tear to anyone's eye.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial of Caen also viewed

 

Been to Memorial of Caen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memorial of Caen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.