We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grill Courtepaille

Grill Courtepaille
31 Cote de Nacre, 14000 Caen, France
0231947052
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 322 Restaurants in Caen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After an 8 hour car ride, we did not feel of going very far from the hotel. We decided to use the adjacent restaurant - Courtepaille.

We were felt very welcome (we speak the language as well), and had excellent meals (Steak and boudin). The house wine is very acceptable, and the price was very low with a 10% off if you are at the Mercure next door. We had forgotten our coupon, but the waiter just deducted the 10% anyway, a nice touch.

We went back at the end of the week, and were also well treated.

I recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    18
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Below average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in the adjacent ibis hotel and after a nice breakfast decided to try the restaurant in the evening, the steak was tough and the baked potato one of the group had looked several days old. We also had three separate servers and not one was welcoming.

Use for breakfast but avoid for the evening meals, second night we went to McDonald's next store!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food - Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were visiting the Normandy sites and came to Caen to have a look around and to have some dinner. We stopped by Grill Courtepaille and had a nice experience. Initially we were told there wasn't a table for five near the window, but upon reflection the staff moved things around and we were able to sit by the window with an excellent view of the city and canal.

We were served great steaks prepared to our liking. My teenage son was not used to having his steak cooked exactly as he asked, so when his dish arrived it was indeed rare as he requested. The staff graciously provided another steak cooked a bit longer this time. A great selection of food and drink. You can find their menu here. http://www.courtepaille.com/ This isn't a run of the mill tourist restaurant, it's frequented by locals so will get a feel for the ambience of the area.

We were waited on by Sarah and another charming lady. They were helpful and friendly. Sarah speaks good English, so if you don't "Parler Francaise" ask for her.

A great experience over all. Vive la Grill Cortepaille!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Steak Very Tough. Pichets of Wine Dear. Avoid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Staff nice but steak terribly tough, desserts nice, pichets of wine dear. Manager reduced bill by 50% as he knew there was a problem with meat quality. Would never go there again. Hotel ok.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Visited on TWICE in a four night stay, it was so good the first time that we attended again! The service was exceptional and through a mixture of poor french (On my behalf) and good english from the seperate waitresses whom served us, we received exactly what was asked for.
We specifically asked for our steaks to be cooked well done and going on previous occasions in france well done has meant (In my experience) medium.
However both steaks were well done and were delicious, as was the shared caramel desert.
All in all, you would do far worse in Caen in terms of service and food, Service with a smile and good value for money!!!
(Would have been a five if not a chain)

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill Courtepaille also viewed

Bretteville Sur Odon, Calvados
 

Been to Grill Courtepaille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill Courtepaille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.