We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but only functional service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of la poterne

la poterne
9 rue vaugueux, 14000 Caen, France
0231935746
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 322 Restaurants in Caen
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good food, but only functional service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The location for this restaurant is what initially sells it (old architecture and pedestrian street). The food was good, we both ordered specials of the day and enjoyed them.

The service was odd. We were served politely, but both the waiter and waitress lacked any personality or warmth. At no point did they come to check whether everything was okay.

We ate on the terrace, which gave a view. The interior was full of stuffed animal heads, which the owner has obviously shot and killed while on holiday (there was photographic evidence on th stairs to the toilets).

An odd location, I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    52
    38
    44
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a very atmospheric setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I ate dinner here with my wife and father in law. We sat outside where they had heat lamps to keep diners warm. The restaurant is situated in a picturesque part of historic Caen and the inside has a wonderful atmosphere and interesting decor. Not the cheapest restaurant but very good food. I paid about 18 Euros for a terrific calves liver in sherry sauce with jacket potato and soft cheese topping.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We arrived at the restaurant just before 21:00 hours on a Saturday and, despite reserving our table for a party of eight earlier in the day, the table was taken and the waiter denied all knowledge of our booking. With some protest, we were shown to an area upstairs where the waiter turned on the lights and dusted down what looked liked an unused area of the restaurant. After some debate (with one member of our group being fluent in French) we eventually managed to secure 2 tables and our party split into 2 groups of four. At about 21:45 we received our menus and ordered our food. Over an hour had passed and we noticed locals/French people appeared to be served much more efficiently than we had, judging by the drinks and food that were appearing before them. At approximately 23:00 we left the restaurant having not been served any food and left our payment for the bottle of wine that had been served us. We found the restaurant staff to be very unaccommodating and unfriendly and, needless to say, we will never visit this restaurant again despite it being in a very popular and attractive street.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

There are a good range of restaurants, brasseries, etc on rue Vaugeux, and La Poterne has an really good location. However, that's all it has going for it. The pieces of steak were served with an indistinguishable sauce (pepper or cheese?) there merely to hide the piece of gristle that was masquerading as meat - inedible! The rinks were also very overpriced eg. 7 euros for a demi (lager). We have eaten several times in rue Vaugeux over the years but this restaurant really lets the area down - avoid.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is more than Louis De Funes could think of.
What a terrible experience.
Old interior, very unfriendly staff, bad food and not worth what we paid for it.
Maybe with a real chef and staff capable and having some knowledge of serving this could be something.
We had “menu Diane”
Starters
“Fricassée d’escargots aux girolles”
No idea how the cook turned this into something bad as what we had
“Foie gras de canard aux parfums de Calvados Lecompte
Best thing we had. Luckily for us it’s only opening a thin.
Main course
“Foie de veau, oignons fins, infusion de Xérès et pommes de terre en robe des champs, crème de ciboulette “.
5mm thick and overcooked,
“Brochette de lotte et barbue, aigre douce sur sa fondue de légumes oubliés“
Fish undercooked, and vegetables are best to be left forgotten.

The owners are lucky to be on a corner in the rue de Vaugueux, if not they would be bankrupt in a week. No man is stupid enough to go back for a second meal.
In Caen are so many good restaurants, so please just ignore this one.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la poterne also viewed

 

Been to la poterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la poterne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.