We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Havre

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Havre to your Saves list
Hotel du Havre
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Havre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, rue du Havre, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Caen
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We felt like a hindrance to the owner with a less than warm welcome as soon as we walked in. She changed our room once we said it was too noisy at the front but after having to argue about it. Too many rules: you can have a hot drink but it needs to be taken into the dining room. Feels like an expensive hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
14
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I arrived without a reservation and had no trouble getting a room. The hotel is in a quite street but still very handy for the port and central areas. Room was spotless, warm, and very comfortable double bed. En suite facilities (room 21). Hosts are a husband and wife team who are very helpful; I was cycling and they put my bike in their lock up garage for the night. Breakfast was good (as far as French breakfasts go!). Cost about Eu55 bed and breakfast. My second visit here and hopefully not the last.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here one night and it was quite nice. The couple that run it are great as well and very helpful. The hotel itself is 5 minutes drive from the train station so if you don't have heavy bags you could probably walk since it's so close. It was very cold and snowing when I went so I took a taxi. The hotel itself is very clean. It does not have a lift so keep that in mind if you do have a lot of luggage. There is limited parking if you're driving so also be aware of that. It is in a good location with a lot of things to see around that are in walking distance. The museum and William of Normandie's castle is maybe a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The price of the hotel is also very good and reasonable as well. The breakfast was pretty standard and it cost 6 euros which includes various breads, juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt, etc. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage stay on the 1st floor since there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Comfortable bed, all very clean, quiet, no smells, good location. My en suite shower was fine, as was the shared WC on the floor (typical for this price range).

The warm welcome from Madame (I didn't catch her name) was just the thing for a weary traveller. Msr was also very friendly. breakfast was good, and the whole place had a nice warm welcomg feel to it. At the price, I rate it very highly.

This is the second hotel of the "Contact" group I have stayed at, and both have impressed me. I guess two isn't a very big sample, but maybe that name is worth keeping an eye out for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

First of all, this hotel is spotless, both the bedrooms / bathrooms and public area. The bedding is crisp white and the bed very comfortable.
The bathroom of room 14 has a great shower but the bathroom itself is small, has a folding door and is really just partitioned from the bedroom (with a gap at the top). We have found this sort of arrangement elsewhere in France where a hotel has added bathrooms. It's ok but not ideal. However it would not stop us from staying here again.
The couple who run the hotel are friendly and efficient. There is free parking directly outside but we never saw free spaces during our visit. There is a small car park behind the hotel which can involve the driver in some manoeuvring! It fills up completely but we always found a space. Also, even though we could not have our room until 2pm, we were able to use the carpark from the time of our arrival in Caen (10.30 am). Very useful!
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but at a bar a few doors down (Le Tilbury). This was basic and cheap.
This hotel is part of a chain with a reward scheme. We would definitely use it again, when in Caen.

Room Tip: Room 14 overlooks the side. Quite a lot of traffic noise by day but quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Havre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Havre

Address: 11, rue du Havre, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Havre 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Normandy, in the city centre of Caen, the Hotel du Havre greets you in a quiet street, 5mn away from the Marina and the Castle. Our rooms are non-smoking. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Havre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Havre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;