We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very nice...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel

Central Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jean Letellier, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Caen
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not very nice...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The only thing nice about this hotel is the staff. The rooms are very old and tired. A group of us stayed in separate rooms and there was mold on some of the walls! The doors do not appear very secure and the lobby area is largely unmanned with keys hanging by the door. I would not stay here again. Really needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We paid 52 euro for 2 persons. Location is good, but we could hear every footstep of other guests on the stairs and in the rooms. Quite a simple basic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchTravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region parisienne
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We spent just one night at this hotel, and I wouldn't like to stay there any longer. Rooms are opened and closed with a key. And, as a commentator has noted above, everyone can enter to the area of rooms, so I think it's not safe.
The room had an odour, it was equiped maybe ten years ago. The door of shower room seemed all dirty around the handle, I doubted if they clean the doors and handles at all. Or it's time to paint the doors?
The bed was comfortable, but there were only sheets, blankets had no slip-cover. Personally, I cover my head when I sleep and with a blanket with a sheet under it it was just no possible to do that. I couldn't sleep almost all night even though I was very tired, it drove me crazy. And the blankets are no good at all, the owners of the hotel should change them all.
Hotel's situation is very good, in town center. There is no parking, we found a place to park easily because we arrived late in the evening. But we had to pay the price of parking, from 9 a.m. till 6 p.m.
In conclusion, I wouldn't come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank touristendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caen hotels

leicester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Smack in the centre of town and just minutes from the Chateau Ducal, the main shopping streets and the Port. Excellent value for money, the breakfast also. OK so the rooms are not exactly luxuriously appointed, there is no lift ( and we were on the third floor1), the hot water seems to run out in the early evening. and parking in the square opposite requires a bit of luck and some perserverance. The good nature of the staff, the location and the excellent value more than compensates.for these few shortcomings

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilkobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

By name, by nature. This hotel is right by the centre, two minutes from Caen Castle, five from all the centre and around 15 minutes from the train station (on foot). Very well placed. So far so good, then the little things kick in.

The bathroom is tiny. I mean really tiny. Getting dried after a shower becomes a challenge by itself.

The language barrier with one (out of three) of the proprietors/doorpeople. Two speak English, one doesn't. they are all on seperately - so at times there is no English speaking. Not a problem personally, but it could be for some (especially with some of the later issues).

Next up, security. Being a central area, it was in a very slightly iffy area. No real problem. But there are a few little things that make you uneasy. There is no safe in the rooms or in the hotel. The stopping of intruders is that anytime anyone enters the hotel a bell rings and the proprietors try and poke their heads around the corner in time to make sure you are a resident. If they missed you, so be it (and I made sure they missed me on numerous occasions). Just a little worrying when you are carrying large amounts of holiday money.

Finally, the car parking. On booking.com it states that parking is available outside the hotel for E4.00 per say. This is a bit fantasy land. Firstly, there is parking, but it is always full. By chance alone we managed to get a space on arrival (someone pulled off just as we arrived). This parking was E2.00 for one and a half hours, and you could not get any more than this without returning every hour and a half. In reality there is no long stay car parking at the hotel. You have to park at the castle car park at E8.00 per day*, a few minutes away (once you find the thing in the one way system).

This could improve as a hotel with a couple of additions: a hotel safe, directions to the long stay car park around the corner and a minibar/fridge would be top of my list. At the moment though, it is nothing special, but as cheap as you are going to get for where it is.

*The long stay car park does not take English credit cards and requires payment in coins. Can be problematical when it is E24.00 in total.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldhamSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#1 of 42 in Caen
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#19 of 42 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 42 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#29 of 42 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Place Jean Letellier, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing