We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean and smelly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Univers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Univers to your Saves list
Hotel L'Univers
12, Quai Vendeuvre, Caen, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not clean and smelly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had to stop by Caen during our road trip in Brittany/ Normandy, and Hotel de l'Univers seemed well located and convenient for a one-night-stay. With low expectations, we were actually shocked: rooms smell really terrible and bathroom is not well cleaned. Corridors are dark and creepy, I know September is not the high season, but there is no need to give guests the impression that they are under a curfew. Bathtub is not practical and we had insufficient towels. The only reason I am not rating this as "terrbile" is because the receptionnist was polite, the hotel is well located and I once thought I might die in a motel in Dar es Salaam. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 24th August with friends. We arrived in Caen early AM so enjoyed a walk around the Castle before heading to the hotel. We arrived early for check-in and the smiley receptionist was great as they were able to provide us with rooms straight away. We stayed on the second floor and had a candy pink room - pink is not my cup of tea but the room was spacious and comfy with a storage area leading to the bathroom. The bath was a good size but the showerhead did have limescale (wasn't too off putting though as we opted for a bath rather than shower). The windows in the room open right up so you can get great views of the harbour and market (on Sundays). We slept well at night and the hotel felt safe throughout. We didn't opt for breakfast as there is plenty of good quality and value food on offer at the market. During checkout the smiley receptionist kindly let us keep our bags at the hotel whilst we wondered around town during the morning...of which we were highly thankful for. Very accommodating throughout, great location and good good value for money. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is right along the canal with a great view of the port. The rooms are simple with older furniture. However, the mattress must be memory foam as I had a fantastic sleep. We walked around the shopping area just around the corner flanked by OLD churches on each side. There's lots of eating areas right outside the hotel and lots of parking across the road (free from 7pm to 9am). We had lost our adapter and the front desk lent us 3. The continental breakfast in the morning was very basic and cost 7 euros extra so I would suggest eating elsewhere if wanting something to hold you for awhile. It was a great place to stay for the night on our way to the Normandy beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Damien, the receptionist, was fantastic! I emailed that we would not arrive until 22:30, and was emailed back the door code as the door closes at 22:00. Then in response to asking where I could lock the bicycles, Damien said he would stay up and wait for us so that he could securely store the bikes behind reception. What great customer service. Very good location, just at the end of the 9 mile bicycle route which runs from the ferry alongside the canal.

The room was basic but clean, and good value for the very reasonable price. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but okay for 7 euros.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A reasonable price for an good hotel with great location. It is next to the most alive part of the city, with windows that leave the noise outside. Rooms including bathroom are clean and big enough with coffee and tea. Bad side of staying is that if you travel with car there is no hotel parking leaving you to catch hours when city parking is free (19h to 9.30). When you check-in, friendly staff provides you with all necessary informations that you need - door and wifi code. They also offer breakfast, but is payable (7euros). There is no elevator, so the number of stairs you have to overcome carrying your luggage depends on your luck.

Room Tip: Lower floor makes you ascend less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is located on "harbor" and has easy pay parking accross the street. The rooms were small but clean and the cost is reasonable. The front desk staff was freindly. The windows were new double pain glass and the rooms were acceptably quiet. Be advised there is no elevator and some rooms face the back side of the building (ask for street facing rooms).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent Location, right next to the Harbour and the Bar's and Restaurant's. Rooms are ok, but extremely basic. Small Kettle and tea and Coffee in room.
Breakfast was 7Euro's which was half a Buagette and a Crousiant..choice of spreads, from small cheese, Jam, Honey and Nutella. Staff were very polite and friendly. NO LIFT in this hotel, so be prepared to lug your luggage.
The restaurant Attached to the Hotel is Very nice food and reasonable. Not sure what the Hotel rating is, but I would give it a 2 star.
One bit of Advice, if you stay over a Saturday night, you will have to move your car, as Sunday the car park is a market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Univers

Address: 12, Quai Vendeuvre, Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Univers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.