We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B/ B for our stay, beatifully presented rooms/surrounds and wonderful hoasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Sainte Croix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Sainte Croix
Save
You added Hotel de Sainte Croix to your Saves list
12 rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Perth
1 review
“The perfect B/ B for our stay, beatifully presented rooms/surrounds and wonderful hoasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed two nights. Our room was very spacious with a large modern bathroom. beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Our hoast greated us with genuine warmth and friendleyness. Breakfast was a highlight .All the European trimmings followed by home cooked crepes the first morning and french toast the second. Delightful ,we were really made to feel at home. We could not fault and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
118
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed 4 nightsd at Hotel de Sainte Croix over the Easter weekend arriving late Fri. Our room was on the top floor facing the square where the market is held every Sat. What a wonderful sight to wake up to & we couldn't wait to get out there & explore the market & the town. Florence puts on a breakfast that is to die for!! Imagine having dessert for breakfast every day & all home made. The first morning she had baked a chocolate torte & that cinced it for my husband. We enjoyed the apple crepes, baked apples, mini french toasts, fresh fruit just about every morning, along with the usual croissants & baquette slices, plus cheese & yogert. Coffee was plentiful & hot as were the other beverages, served in beautiful French china. We enjoyed the company of 2 young couples from London who were orginally from Australia & New York City.

Our room was spacious with 2 extra single beds plus a very large bathroom with twin pedestal sinks & a nice shower. It was large enough that I kept my suitcases in there & used it as a dressing room.

Bayeux is a beautiful little town full of history with the tapestry, cathedral, war museum & cemetery. We walked everywhere & left our car parked. We tried a different restaurant every night & everyone was great. We even found a great wine store on the main street with great bargains!! Bayeux is also very handy to the WW II battlefields, Caen & Mont Michele.

All in all, this was a great introduction to France & the Normandy area. We would love to return & definitely would stay at Sainte Croix because of Florence & her wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights at Hotel de Sainte Croix from 18 to 20 February 2009. The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and very spacious, while Florence was the perfect hostess. Breakfast was truely divine and a perfect start to each days sight seeing. The B&B is very centrally located with many excellent restaurants nearby, a short walk to the Tapestry and a market across the road on Saturday mornings. While in Bayeux, we visited the Tapestry, the D-Day beaches, Mont Saint Michelle (amazing) and generally explored this charming town.

We couldn't have asked for more form Florence or the accomodation and would have no hesitation in recomending Hotel de Sainte Croix to friends and family visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Stayed at the Hotel de Sainte Croix for one night in November while visiting the DDay beaches and Bayeux. It is perfectly located in the center of this charming old town, with off-street parking and everything just steps away. Our rooms were very nicely decorated, clean, spacious and comfortable, and the breafast spread very nice. Our only complaints were that the showerheads did not spray evenly, and the rooms were cold at night - we had to snuggle under the covers to stay warm. Also, there is no internet service in the hotel, though we were told there is an internet cafe nearby (we did not pursue). Dinner at the Cafe de Paris next door was great!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delafield, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

My friend Sharon and I spent 4 nights at Hotel de Sainte Croix from September 22-26. When we arrived at the hotel, Florence welcomed us warmly. She showed us to our room called Josephine. It was a VERY large, wonderfully furnished room with 3 beds. We used one bed for our suitcases. The bathroom was also very large with two sinks and a great shower. Every aspect of Hotel de Sainte Croix was spotless.
The breakfasts that Florence prepared were among or perhaps the best that I have ever eaten. Bayeux is the apple region, so we had the most delicious baked apple, apple crumble, crepes, a creme fraiche with rhubarb, lemon sponge cake, cheeses, breads, etc. etc. served on beautiful china in a lovely dining room. One morning we spent an hour and half just visiting with several guests...one couple from northern England and one couple from Apple Valley, MN. We had such a wonderful visit and never felt that we were rushed to eat and leave.
Neither Sharon or I are proficient in French, but that did not present a problem for us. Florence was used to having non-french speaking guests.
Hotel de Sainte Croix is located just a short walking distance outside the city center...which we truly enjoyed. It was in a quieter and non-congested part of the city.
While in Bayeux, we took the Hotel Churchill tour to Mont Saint Michel, the Battlebus tour to the D-Day American Highlights, the cathedral, and the Tapestry Museum. All four of these sights are a "must" if you are in Bayeux.
NEVER, EVER will you find such an accomodation for 73 euros.

Thank you Florence for such wonderful memories.

Susan
Wisconsin

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

We spent three nights at this charming property in September. It was a really lovely place to stay, (and Bayeux is so convenient to visit the Battle fields, the Tapestry, the Peace Museum at Caen, and even Mont St Michel). Florence is a gracious host - I have little French, she has a little English, but we managed well to communicate. She takes such pride in her beautiful house; everything is immaculate, spotless and decorated in delightful taste. We had the room “Josephine” overlooking the square – there are photos of it on the travelers’ photos other people have submitted – it the one decorated in yellow. The room is vast, as is the bathroom – this is well equipped, twin basins, bath with shower over etc. The house itself is lovely – and there is a large garden at the back. Florence is one of those people who wants everything to be perfect – and it shows! Breakfast is set in her dining room, with linen, lovely china, and a variety of food. We had something different each morning. There is a kettle and tea and coffee in the room too. You can park in the front terrace of the house (room for 2 cars there) or in the square opposite. We both loved the experience of staying there, and found Florence to be delightful, charming and helpful in every way.

  • Liked — The grace and charm of the house and the owner; the location - close to everything in the town
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We have just returned from a long weekend in Bayeux and a fantastic 3 night stay at the Hotel de Sainte Croix!

Florence's is just like her home - warm, charming and welcoming and she is the perfect hostesse. We stayed in the yellow room 'Josephine' decorated in a typical French way, which was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also huge and I enjoyed the 'his and hers' sink so that me and my husband were'nt jostling for the sink each morning!

The property is ideally located in Bayeux and we walked to the main tourist highlights easily. Situated overlooking the market square we were slightly concerend on Friday night that we would be disturbed by the Saturday market setting up in the morning but we honestly didn't hear a thing and slept soundly. The residence is peaceful and quiet and I would not be concerned about sleeping at the front. Also if you do stay at the weekend and have your car, its an ideal opportunity to stock up on all the great fresh market produce. We found parking easy, though this may not be the case in high season.

Talking of fresh produce...the breakfasts are superb! We had a choice of croissants, bread and conserves each morning along with yoghurt and Florence's speciality of the day! Each morning this was something different and we enjoyed crepes and French toast and even a chocolate brownie. Having dessert at breakfast is strangely nice!

Florence was not fluent in English and we were not fluent in French but somehow we managed to muddle through and she took a real interest in what we were doing and where we were going and gave us great reccomendations for dinner (we never had a bad meal the whole time we were there). Bayuex is ideally situated for touring the D-Day sites and is itself a charming Medieval town and of the course the Tapestry is a must-see.

We found Bayeux to be a fantastic weekend destination, friendly and charming and we will definitely be back. We will also not hesitate to return to the hospitatlity of Hotel de St Croix. The building is old and the floors squeak - but who cares? If you want sterile blandness book the Best Western!

Finally I should just mention the price, we thought it was great value at 73 Euros a night. Our friends stayed at the Hotel Tardif which was considerably more expensive but I do not think a better experience for the money.

  • Liked — Historic, comfortable property, ideally located with charming hostesse.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sainte Croix

Address: 12 rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holidays or for a week end in Bayeux, open the door of this XVIIIth century private hotel and you will be charmed by this building which brings together the charm of the sophistication of yesterday with today's comforts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Sainte Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.