We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Sainte Croix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Sainte Croix
Save
You added Hotel de Sainte Croix to your Saves list
12 rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Seattle
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Hotel de Sainte Croix and enjoyed every minute. Note that despite the name, it is a B&B, not a hotel, which made it all the better. Madame Florence is delightful, helpful, and friendly. She made us feel very welcome. She made phone calls for us to help us arrange visits to the Bayeux tapestry and Normandy beaches. Our room was wonderful, large and spacious. It was very quiet, and we slept better in it than we did during our previous week in Paris. Madame Florence prepares delicious breakfasts with pastries, jams, and jellies, fruit, and a special hot treat every morning. The bathroom was large and very clean. Her B&B is conveniently located within walking distance of all of Bayeux's attractions and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again when returning to Bayeux.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
118
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Bayeux at this charming B+B. It was a great location for viewing all the sites around Normandy. The proprietor, Florence Bourdon, was gracious, professional, kind. Our room ("Eugenie") was large and well appointed as was our bath - rather surprising for this old building. The breakfasts were terrific - something freshly baked and different each morning. A real value!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the Eugenie room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Az.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This B&B is very quaint and near to everything. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious with a wide chose of different foods. You won't go hungry. The B&B hostess was very caring and helpful. Her knowledge of the area was a great help on dining and seeing the sights. Don't miss this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent three days in Bayeaux, and were perfectly happy with this very charming bed and breakfast. We had a large room on the second floor with a huge bathroom. Our hostess Florence could not have been more accomodating - she helped directing us to a local laundromat, several restaurants, and even called to our next hotel for us.
Breakfast was more than anyone could eat, although a bit of protein (perhaps some deviled egg) would have made it perfect.
We loved Bayeux, and could have stayed longer. Definitely a better choice than Caen for our Normandy base.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

In planning our recent European adventure we did extended research, however one never really knows what to expect until arrival. We traveled all day by rail to Bayeux, (thru Paris) from Switzerland, and upon our late arrival to the St. Croix we experienced a delightful surprise. Our hostess, Florence had arranged for a taxi from the train station and was waiting for us when we arrived. She could tell we were travel weary and just gave us our key (for the Josephine Suite on the second floor) and asked what time we would be having breakfast. From the moment we arrived we felt at home ..

This is an old building as you would expect for a bed and breakfast, but absolutely charming - right down to the old fashioned skeleton keys used for access to the room as well as late night entries at the front door. What a room, it was fabulous to say the least. After traveling for several weeks in small European rooms, the room and bathroom to say the least were spacious, clean and just reeked of history right down to the squeaky floors. Our room faced the street and there was no problem with street noise and we never heard peep from adjacent rooms. It was within easy walking distance of town, and if you didn't care to walk Florence would call for a taxi to take you to your destination. There were also two self-serve coin laundries within minutes of the hotel.

Florence, our hostess was wonderful, from the moment we were greeted at the front door to the time we sadly had to leave. She was always there to help at a moment’s notice. Breakfast was served downstairs in an elegant dining room with all the charm one could possibly want, and was waiting for us at precisely the time we requested each morning. As far as the breakfast fare, each day was different and could include pastries, crepes, freshly baked breads, (just to name a few) and hot and cold beverages, all prepared and presented by Florence with all the charm you would expect of a French Chateau.

This is an absolutely great place and location, and not at all pricey. We truly recommend it to anyone who is considering a trip to Normandie ... NOT TO BE OVERLOOKED.

Room Tip: Josephine Suite, 2nd Floor is large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a double room on 3rd floor (no lift) which was roomy and cheerful. It also had a nice little patio that overlooked the backyard and the private bathroom with walk in shower was very large. Compared to our teeny-tiny shoebox hotel room in London we had just stayed in, this place was a palace! Florence was very nice and had a wonderful spread of fresh bread, yogurt, croissant, jams and cakes (lots of carbs!) and good coffee/tea in the mornings. It was a straightforward walk to the B&B from the train station with our wheeled carry on luggage which took about 25 min. WiFi worked great in our rooms. Lots of restaurants, ATM, & laundromat close by (save 2euro coins for wash). The town of Bayeux is so pretty and we enjoyed our stay! We did a Normandy D-day tour and also a Mont Saint-Michel tour through the Hotel Churchill shuttle bus. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel de Sainte Croix is a charming 18th century shuttered French town house off a large town square in Bayeux; the square features a Farmer's Market Saturday's and parking the remainder of the week. The B&B is full of character. Our room on the first floor was spacious and light filled with a galley kitchen, modern shower, en suite, and a view to the square.

Each day Florence prepares a tasty breakfast with lovely baked goods; she is gracious, helpful, well-informed and full of useful tips.

The B and B is within easy walking distance of the centre of Bayeux with its lovely cathedral, the Tapestry, D-Day museum and a great range of restaurants (ask Florence.) Convenient too for trips to Caen, St. Malo, Le Mont St Michel, the D day beaches, Pegasus Bridge and the host of museums and other D day attractions. A great stay in a sweet small town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sainte Croix

Address: 12 rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holidays or for a week end in Bayeux, open the door of this XVIIIth century private hotel and you will be charmed by this building which brings together the charm of the sophistication of yesterday with today's comforts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Sainte Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.