We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in charming and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Sainte Croix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Sainte Croix
Save
You added Hotel de Sainte Croix to your Saves list
12 Rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in charming and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a family room from two nights on our way back from brittany and were very pleased. The hotel is very easy to find just follow signs centre ville and you end up on rue du marche outside. The house is very well kept with the children loving the cat ornaments, lovely garden and staircases. The room was very large with a comfortable bathroom and furnished with lots of curiosities. Breakfast was beautiful, the children were well looked after by Florence with hot chocolate, croissants, freshly made cake, brioche and fresh fruit. It is also in the centre of bayeux so easy to walk to main sites, shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
119
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This bed-and-breakfast was the least expensive of all the places my husband and I stayed in Italy and France, and it was my favorite. The décor was like a page out of "Victoria" magazine, the breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented, and Florence, the innkeeper, was gracious and friendly without being intrusive. We came to Normandy to visit the D-Day sites, so the hotel's location was a plus, and Florence even called to set up the tour for us. We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This beautiful B&B was the first stop on our trip to France. Arriving exhausted from travel Mlle. Florence showed us to our beautiful two- room suite at the front of the house. It was large and comfortable, exquisitely furnished in period antiques, with a modern bath attached. To stay in such a beautiful historic home that has been so gently refurbished was a treat and a nice complement to the history and beauty of Normandy.
Rick Steve's calls the owner "friendly Florence" and indeed she was. She watched out for us throughout our stay, helping with details of restaurants, and calling our tour guide when he was delayed.
The beautifully prepared and graciously served breakfasts were the best that we had among all of our B&B stays, and that is saying a lot...they were superlative.
The only drawback may have been the noise from the street in front of the house, but since we were there on a Sunday and Monday, and up early, it was not an issue. You may want to ask for a room not facing the street if you think it may bother you.
Thank you for the hospitality Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful B&B for 4 nights in June. Our two-room suite was excellent in every way and a perfect choice for families-beautifully decorated, very spacious and spotlessly clean. Florence was a delightful hostess and very charming. The breakfasts she provided were extensive and a true taste of France. We just loved Bayeux and want to go back soon-we would stay at Hotel de Sainte Croix again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Eugenie suite has a main room with king bed and a second bedroom with two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here with husband and daughter in 2 separate adjoining rooms. Our hostess was very helpful and friendly, the rooms were very spacious and pleasant with lovely views and the hotel is in a good location with plenty of parking. I chose it initially partly because of the location and I was not disappointed. It is a bit challenging to find without a map (our unfortunate strategy) as Bayeux is full of one way narrow streets, so make sure you have a map, or your google maps with you. It took us a few days to work out how to navigate the town generally. Everything was very clean and comfortable and the continental breakfast was plentiful and nice. My only niggle was one I have had all over France, which is that where there are lots of hangings or fabric headboards near the bed, which seems to be quite frequently in all the places I have stayed in France, they do affect people like me and my daughter with a severe dust allergy and give us a runny nose and itchy eyes during the night. I know We are in a tiny minority here, so don't let me put you off!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a wonderul B&B! My husband and I stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. The room was exquisite and decorated in a victorian style. The location was perfect, within easy walking distance from the train station (or a 9.00 taxi ride) and across the street from city busses that go to D-Day beaches. The walk along the town streets and the waterway were both enchanting. Follow the dining recommendations from the host and avoid the overpriced stuffy restaurant across the courtyard from the B&B, you'll be happier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the Victoria room with queen bed plus two twin beds. The decor was very charming, and all was spotless. The spacious bathroom had two large sinks and a large shower. We appreciated the fact that the shower gave complete privacy so while in use other family members could pop in and use the bathroom. Florence was very kind and helpful. We especially appreciated her assistance with a car rental. Breakfast was lovely, with items that varied each day. These breakfasts are carb heavy and sweet, but that is the French way (eggs and cheese and meat are not for breakfast!) Wifi was weak in our room so we spent some time on the stairs when we needed to access the internet. We would definitely stay here again if returning to Bayeux!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sainte Croix

Address: 12 Rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holidays or for a week end in Bayeux, open the door of this XVIIIth century private hotel and you will be charmed by this building which brings together the charm of the sophistication of yesterday with today's comforts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Sainte Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.