We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Bayeux to your Saves list
Hotel Le Bayeux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Rue Tardif, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“everything we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We did a Normandy battlefield tour and this was a great spot to stay. Close to the train station. About a 5 minute walk. Safe, clean, roomy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They all spoke English and very much appreciated American visitors. Great breakfast too. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this to anyone else that is traveling to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    262
    91
    24
    9
See reviews for
233
279
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem!! We were there in March and it was so cold outside but every time we walked in it was a warm welcome. Rooms are simple but well appointed. This is not fancy and more than €100/night means it is the tourist season, but you will feel like it was worth the lower price. We only ate the breakfast on the mornings when it was inconvenient to go to a bakery. €10/person is worth it when time is tight, but otherwise we walled into town and got croissants and coffee for €20 for 6 people. I highly recommend this hotel and hope you have lovely stay also. I was also told that the best price is had by calling as they pay no fees to any services then.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Germain-du-Bel-Air, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Despite the weather (exceptional snow stroms in Bayeux) the management and its team did their best to welcome my family in the best conditions.

The woman managing the hotel knows very well the city and the area. She could be an excellent guide !

All the people in the hotel were smiling and very kind with my children.

Room Tip: If you are accompanied by Senior people I recommend the rooms at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there during the period 11-14 March. Accommodations were excellent. Thought the rooms were the right size for our stay. Breakfast was great also. Lousy weather hamper our ww2 tours but they helped us with rerouted travel plans back to Paris. I am ready to return there with our next trip to Normandy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights because it was a good location for our Overlord tour. Staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke English. The room was very nice, especially the bathroom, good hot water and they actually had an electrical outlet in the bathroom (something England can't seem to give you). The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Hotel Le Bayeux for one night on March 5, 2013. A large 4-person room which had two single beds and a bunk bed. The bathroom was spotless. Walk-In shower. Beds very clean and comfortable.

We ordered the breakfast for 10 Euros, but a typical European breakfast which isn't for every American: sausages, cheese, tomatoes, yogurt.

Laundry service was great. For 15 euros, stuff as much as you can into a bag that they provided, and pick up later in the day. Folded and all. Great because this was the midpoint (4th day) of our trip and we needed some fresh clothes.

The manager was super helpful in the morning as he mapped out our itinerary for touring the Normandy landing beaches and other sites.

I don't think there is a fitness center, but better to run around the beautiful town anyway. 5 minute walk to "Main Street". Bayeux itself was a very nice town.

I booked the room through Expedia sight unseen and we were very pleasntly surprised.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in mid-February. Can't be beat for price & location. The double room seemed a bit small, so we asked for a larger room; not a problem. The triple room is definitely roomier; plus it was on the ground floor. The hotel itself was cozy, staff was very accomodating, and as previously mentioned by others, most things in town were within walking distance. Did not choose the breakfast, as we decide to "venture" out on our own. Overall, a definite ++++++. Salsipuedes

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Address: 9, Rue Tardif, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bayeux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.