We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with pleasant staff and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reine Mathilde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Reine Mathilde to your Saves list
Hotel Reine Mathilde
23 rue Larcher, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with pleasant staff and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Didn't really have any problems during our 2-nights stay at this hotel (apart from they forgot to tell any of our party of 12 that the doors were locked after a certain time and that there was a code needed to get in - a certain amount of ingenuity was needed on our part to get in!).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    218
    50
    7
    5
See reviews for
159
296
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed here for one night - and got stuck with Room 6 which is the room with a view of the kitchen fan. Wonderful if you like the sounds and smells of food being prepared and dishes being washed. We made do since it was only for one night. The room is very compact as is the bathroom and the furniture quite old. The staff is very helpful and the location is excellent - especially if you plan on taking one of the d-day tours in the morning or visiting the Tapestry - the hotel is immediately adjacent to both. The restaurant is very good - i recommend the pizza and the entrecote (grilled ribeye steak). Considering the price, the hotel is a very good value, just don't expect more than you would at your local Motel 6, lol.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framilode
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

My partner and I spent 3 delightful nights in The Reine Matilde, after spending a week in the Dordogne. The convenient free car park is very handy and crosses the delightful little canal to the relaxed terrace of the hotel. Getting upstairs with suitcases can be a litttle bit of a struggle, but our room was comfortable, clean and the bathroom had a great shower. the window overlooked the County Hall and the Cathedral and we were delighted by the cathedral bells.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellant value, with lovely fresh bread and croissants, as well as fresh fruit salad, yoghourt and boiled eggs and cheese. Dinner in the restaurant was very hearty, with well cooked local specialities. The bar was also a welcome stop for a beer after a day of sightseeing.
We both agree, the Reine Mathilde provides very good value for money. We would be deighted to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trieste
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The hotel is in the center of the very nice town of Bayeux. The hotel is very good and the staff very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here on 25th July for 2 nights as we needed a central location to visit the D-Day beaches. We were impressed with the city of Bayeux on arrival and the excellent location of the hotel by the cathedral. As we were arriving after 11pm we were informed by email of the entry code to the night door and that our room would be left unlocked. We arrived 1130ish and got into the hotel no problem. Unfortunately the room was locked! After wandering around the hotel, and finding the door to the reception area locked, luckily we had brought the hotel's telephone number and even more luckily someone answered! Drama over and we were given our hotel key.

The first impressions of room 15 were that it was quite small and that the ceiling was very steep and my tall other half had to watch hitting his head in the low shower! The bed was also very soft and not that comfortable.

The continental breakfast the next morning was just ok - but very minimal - with no ham and proper cheese - so not sure it was worth the money. The hotel staff are very friendly and we were again impressed with the hotel's lovely location. There is free parking to the back of the hotel which was very handy. The best part of our stay was dinner in the hotel's brasserie. The food and beers were superb and the atmosphere sitting outside was great. We had such a lovely dinner - my other half particularly enjoyed his pork in camembert sauce and the calvados he drank afterwards! Bayeux is a beautiful and safe city to walk around. The only thing we found a bit annoying was how early the city's bars and restaurants closed (including the hotel's). Also that our room was situated overlooking the kitchen so we got a lot of cooking smells - although the dormer window did allow the room not to get too hot.

Definitely a good hotel if you are wanting to explore Bayeux and situated in an excellent central location to visit the D-Day beaches and museums in the surrounding area. Also good value for money and we would go back again. Just not sure we'd have the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This friendliness of this hotel certainly contributed to our enjoyment of Bayeux. The location was both very central and quiet. It was only steps away from the guided D-Day tour starting point, the vast historic cathedral, and the shopping & restaurant area. I felt safe strolling in the late evening. The hotel has a very nice patio restaurant itself, near a small river-side green space. We did not have a great deal of luggage and were able to walk to and from the train station, but that might be a stretch for some folks with large bags or mobility issues.

Our group had two rooms, each ensuite (shower, not tub), no AC, wifi or internet access, but nonetheless suited to the needs of the adults in our group. The teenagers would say otherwise, as limited TV & no internet always ruins their day! When we visited in late July we left the windows open and had no problem with bugs at that point. There were lots of stairs, grouped a few at a time, a slightly confusing floor plan, and bumping your head on the sloped ceiling is a definite issue if you slept on that side of the bed in one of our two rooms. However, I really liked the gabled window which gave fresh air and a view over the patio toward the green space & roofs of ancient stone buildings. (This town was one of the few in the area to avoid extensive war-time damage.) The rooms were cosy/small, reasonable in the setting. Staff were helpful and friendly, food well prepared.

I never thought I’d say this, but the also-nearby famous Bayeux Tapestry and related explanatory displays on the Norman take-over of England were really, really interesting. This educated me about aspects of history that better-informed the rest of my trip in England and Ireland. The Tapestry museum gift shop had nice unique items. But skip the sub-standard food at the cafe just outside the Tapestry site.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We spent one night here before going on a D-Day tour. It is in a nice central location that is only a 2 minute walk to the Place de Quebec meeting place where most tour groups start from. It is also a pleasant 10 minute walk from the Bayeux train station as well.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are a little on the softer side, but after a day of sightseeing in Paris and taking the train to Bayeux, they still felt good. The bathroom was also clean, and the shower worked well. Our room's window opened toward an indoor area that as other reviewers have noted, is where the restaurants kitchen vents are, so the smell can be a little strong.

We had breakfast at the hotel, with fresh bread, pastries and coffee, it was a good way to start the day.

For a very reasonable price, this hotel is a good value for a stay in Bayeux.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reine Mathilde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.