We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reine Mathilde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Reine Mathilde to your Saves list
Hotel Reine Mathilde
23 rue Larcher, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had rooms in the building next door to main reception. Looks like they are brand new - everything was sparkling. I was particularly and kindly surprised that the brasserie by the hotel has non stop service from 7am till 9pm, which is almost non existent in France! Even though we stayed in the hotel in Nov, the hotel and the brasserie were full! Owners are very kind and speak great English.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    197
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
150
260
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent a couple of days here at the end of July and loved it. We are a family of 5, with preteen kids. The offered us a family room. It was on the top floor of the annex. Though we had to walk up a couple of floors, that was not a problem for us. The annex had just been renovated two months prior to our arrival and it was beautiful. Our room was very large compared to typical hotel rooms. Each child had their own bed. The bathroom was modern with a nice walk in shower. We opened our windows and had a nice breeze flow through the rooms. The kids loved the ice cream store downstairs. I loved how centrally located the hotel was. Just outside the annex was a nice pedestrian walk. My only recommendation would be to add a small refrigerator to the room. The breakfast at the hotel was too pricy for a family of 5 for what you got. Highly recommend the annex family room!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is simply perfect. We (my mom and I) stayed in the newly remodeled section and the room was incredibly large, airy, and luxurious for an incredibly reasonable price. After a week of very small rooms, my mom and I literally jumped up and down with glee when we opened the door to our room. Our room overlooked a courtyard on one side and a canal on the other. It was so restful and scenic. The bathroom was HUGE. The internet worked perfectly. The staff was incredibly helpful, warm, and friendly. The food in the restaurant and at the breakfast buffet was incredible. I would recommend this hotel MOST highly! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Il
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here in one of the "new" superior rooms. We not only took an Overlord Tour, we used the Churchill Hotel van to go to Mont St. Michel. Meeting spots for both was less than a block away. The Tapestry museum and the Cathedral were also very close. The staff were wonderful, room clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was another last minute decision, but a good one. We paid about $20 more for a premier room - or some phrasing like that - and I think it was worth it. It was in a little annex by the stream that runs through town, and felt new. It was a large room, by any standard, and the bathroom was the largest I've ever seen in Europe. A friendly staff with a great attitude. We also ate one night in their restaurant, and very satisfied. This hotel is close to the tapestry,and pretty mush everything in downtown Bayeux, and also just a short walk from free and easily accessible parking. I don't know what the entire hotel was like, but I can highly recommend the premier - or whatever it's called - option. This is also a good jumping off point for Normandy visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were late arriving and the hotel gave us the code to get in after hours. It worked great and the hotel was delightful for our accommodations! We caught an early tour for Overlord Tours which was literally a block away. Wish we could have spent more time in the quaint countryside town we were in! We had breakfast and dinner after our tour at the hotel and it was fabulous! Best french onion soup I've ever had! We will come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soignies, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For our first trip to the D-Day landmarks in Normandy, our stay at the Reine Mathilde was great. I mistakenly booked our room for the week following our actual arrival, but the staff was courteous and accommodating. They got us set up in a room within 20 minutes and we were able to enjoy our 4 day stay. We were consistently greeted by smiling staff, who seemed eager to make our stay pleasurable and comfortable. The last day of our stay, my husband caught something, which we think may have been a food-related illness, but we chalked it up to him not returning his food when he saw it was undercooked. Trying to get a Sprite or 7-Up for his stomach was challenging, and it was the only time I was faced with a staff member that was impatient and dismissive. The bathroom in our room was more like a closet, which was not a concerned until dear hubby had to spend most of our last night in it. All-in-all, the staff and facility was clean, and comfortable, and the food was tasty (less the tripe sausage), and we would probably stay there again if in the same area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400 Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reine Mathilde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.