We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Le Maupassant

Brasserie Le Maupassant
19 rue St-Martin, Bayeux, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 71 restaurants in Bayeux
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for lunch. The sandwiches were good, in fact, they made mine fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful and were very tolerant of our limited French. Had we been in Bayeux longer, we would have gone back for lunch and tried it for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    7
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were staying at Lion d'Or and wanted to find an inexpensive but good breakfast. We stumbled on this little gem. The breakfast was standard French food, coffee with steamed milk, crusty French baguette, jam, orange juice and a fresh croissant. The woman running the cafe was very nice and efficient. Total cost was just under 7 Euros, very fair. We will be back again in the morning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheerful and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

One of the cheaper places we found in The Bayeux , but there was a good selection and well priced clearly displayed specials. The food was good but what really made the establishment was the friendly staff who helped us with our questionable French and chipped in with their own questionable English; all this with smiles and laughter. A good stop-off for a reasonably priced lunch with lovely service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nice crepes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

service slow for so little food. sat outside in town center. crepes good but not the best I have had. just a snack for us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A good spot for breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The buffet at the Lion D'Or where my college-grad son and I were staying was overpriced and ordinary, so we set out one morning looking for breakfast. Le Maupassant isn't anything special, but the service is excellent and the food is tasty and priced right. We particularly enjoyed the ham & egg omelets and of course, the croissants (usually fresh from a local patisserie).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Le Maupassant also viewed

Bayeux, Calvados
Bayeux, Calvados
 
Bayeux, Calvados
Bayeux, Calvados
 

Been to Brasserie Le Maupassant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Le Maupassant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.