We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mogador

Hotel Mogador
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mogador
Save
You added Hotel Mogador to your Saves list
20, rue Alain Chartier, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here after experiencing the overwhelming hustle and bustle of Paris. The owners are exceptionally friendly and speak English and French very well. I enjoy speaking French and they are very patient and willing to speak with me whereas so many people simply switch to English on me.

The rooms are very nice for the price. At 60 Euros per night we got a charming double room with two comfy beds, a TV, and WiFi. The hotel is situated right in the middle of town and there is plenty of parking for anyone with a car. If you need a tour or any service booked, the front desk is always more than happy to do it for you.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. If you're looking for an affordable place to stay in the very charming town of Bayeux, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We recently stayed there to visit the World War 2 sites at the beaches of Normandy. This is a very nice place to use as a base for that, but it's also in a beautiful city as well.

The hotel itself is well marked by signs to help you find the place. The building appears fairly old, but it's quaint. The rooms are somewhat sizeable by European standards. The rooms seems fairly clean, but everything in it is starting to show age. And the pillows are a little odd, since our double bed just had one, very long pillow rather than two pillows. But other than any of that, the hotel was more than adequate, and the price is great. The hotel staff was also very friendly and were able to point us in the right direction as far as sightseeing went.

I'd reccomend this place and I'd definitely go back. It's more than adequate, especially if you're just sleeping there. If you're looking for a glitzy hotel, then you need to keep on looking.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Sept 2010 - My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mogador for two nights - Sept 9 & 10 and found it to be a super value -- a hotel that truly stands out from the crowd with personal service, very clean accommodations and a lovely "Petit Dejeuner" in the morning. The owners Daniel and Joelle Mencaroni are very helpful, gracious and you can tell this hotel is run with loving care by them. Daniel speaks English. The rooms are basic, clean and quiet. The only change I would make is to add Wifi as there is no internet connection. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the beautiful Bayeux Cathedral as well as to the Bayeux Tapestries. We also used this as a base to explore the D-Day beaches along the Normandy Coast. On Saturday mornings the delightful "farmers market" is in the "Place" just outside the door with booths of wonderful cheeses, fruits, salami and meats -- all the great food that France is famous for. Reserve ahead -- this hotel is popular!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Location: central, you can park your car in front of the hotel for free, if there's no place, there's a large car park across the street (nights free)
Hotel: quiet, basic but clean, owner is extremely pleasant, we hadn't booked and we asked to see the room, just to make sure it was clean. Good and filling French breakfast: croissants, baguette, jam, coffe/tea, juice.
No lift

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

I have stayed there two times. A great, centrally located hotel. The owner of the ehotel speaks xcellent english. His wife speaks enough to joke around in the language. Reasonably priced hotel. Nice, small clean rooms. The owner can arrange for a van with a driver that may speak some english to take you to both beaches, Point du Hoc, and St Mere Eglise. If you study a bit of history on Military.com you can save a lot on tours. The van should cost about 140 Euro, which compared to a tour for 6 would cost 600 euro. 140 euro is on the clock, so if you have "beach walkers you are paying for it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, HI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

This is a great little hotel for a base to view all the Normandy beaches and sites. Very clean and comfortable, with good beds and shower. We ate breakfast at the bakeries nearby and also bought sandwiches before heading out to view the sites.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

This is a great little place. The proprieter speaks English if required. The rooms while not large are adequate, the bed is firm but comfortable, and most importantly it does not have the ubiquitous rubber undersheet on the bed. It has blankets so you can manage your warmth. The only drawback is that it has stairs that you need lug up your luggage. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mogador

Address: 20, rue Alain Chartier, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Mogador Hotel Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.