We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not immortal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angle Saint Laurent

L'Angle Saint Laurent
2 Rue des Bouchers, 14400 Bayeux, France
+33 2 31 92 03 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, but not immortal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner but cannot say the restaurant was exceptional. It was a full two hours from sit-down until we received our dinner, which was, good but not above the local standard. Service was sporatic and at times hard to find. for example, we would have liked to have been able to order coffee with dessert. Desert, by the way was the exception, it was "When Harry Met Sally Orgasmic" While we enjoyed our experience, if we were locals we would probably not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    51
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great and romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with a dinner at L'
Angle Saint Laurent. We loved every particular of our experience. The restaurant is tucked into a lovely old building and the staff are tres sympa, which helped to make it very warm and romantic. From beginning to end the food, wine, and service were outstanding. We eat in great restaurants all over the world, and we felt that taken as a whole, this was a top ten experience. We had a fabulous time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food fabulous. Service not so good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Whenever we eat out I usually never have room for desert. On this occasion we decided to have one after the meal. We had not pre ordered one. When we asked to have a second look at the menu you would have thought we had slapped the waitress. It took the intervention of the lady in charge to allow us to order desert. It was wonderful when it arrived but why all the fuss?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family of 4 had a great experience here. The food was top notch. Easily one of the best meals we had in France during our 2 week stay - including our time in Paris. The mackerel was particularly good. The interior spaces were well designed, very pleasant and comfortable and a nice compliment to the excellent food. And as someone else said, the service was a good mix of formality and friendliness. I believe the chef and his wife own the restaurant. She acted as hostess and was kind, courteous and attentive. The prices were reasonable for the quality of food. Definitely make a reservation. Highly recommend and hope to go back again one day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best food in Bayeux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Amazing food, great price, husband and wife are owners/chef/waitress.
Everything is cooked to order. Expect a nice leisurely dinner of 2 1/2 hours for the prix fixed, which is the way to go. Undoubtedly, some of the finest French food I have had in France.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angle Saint Laurent also viewed

 

Been to L'Angle Saint Laurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angle Saint Laurent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.