We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good, not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angle Saint Laurent

L'Angle Saint Laurent
2 Rue des Bouchers, 14400 Bayeux, France
0231920301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 71 restaurants in Bayeux
Price range: $33 - $59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very very good, not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When we called in to book, we were very warmly greeted - we ate there on a Saturday evening and the service seemed a little stretched. It was a long time before we were offered menus and were not offered an aperitif, though we did eventually order them. Once the meal started, the service was generally very good (though we had to ask for a spoon for soup!)

The starters and desserts were delicious (try the black pudding tatin) and the main courses good but not so exceptional. (The chicken dish was accompanied by a whole baked apple which dwarfed the rest of the plate)

Only a few details away from being fantastic

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    113
    31
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tidy tiny restaurant in the center of Bayeux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Absolutely the best dinner I've ever eaten. Why doesn't this place have a Michelin star or two?
The service is excellent too. I'd return to Bayeux just to eat at this restaurant again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic french dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are going to go, make a booking in advance. We didn't and felt lucky to get in. From what I could tell, this restaurant is a favorite of locals. Always a good sign. We may have been the only visitors in the place. The main dishes were exquisite ... an explosion of various flavors. The presentation was outstanding. Very good experience all around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent,excellent,excellent!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Look no further in Bayeux, France. This restaurant was superb. Just walked home from a memorable meal and couldn't wait to post what a pleasurable experience it was. Lovely decor, exceptional service, delicious food. Couldn't say enough.

Nancy Lyons
Toronto, Canada

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent & highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door we knew this would be an excellent experience. An absolutely lovely space with very friendly and accommodating people. The food was splendid! We had the very reasonably priced 25 euro three course tasting meal. Amuse bouche, a half dozen excellent oysters, a main course of chicken breast poached in Norman cider with a baked apple and a small salad. We then created two desert courses by sharing the local cheese course and then a very nice three-chocolate napoleon. Toss in a good bottle of wine & two coffees it was a moderate 100 euros.
Everything was very fresh, local and carefully prepared. Restaurant has only been open one year - will definitely become a "must visit" very very soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angle Saint Laurent also viewed

 

Been to L'Angle Saint Laurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angle Saint Laurent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.