We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living history with a few twists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Churchill to your Saves list
Hotel Churchill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Living history with a few twists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed many things. Manager is great and aims to make the experience exceptional. Two quirks to be prepared for: hotel has no parking and the street in front sometime closed to traffic. This can be disconcerting but two tips to circumvent theses issues. First, approach the hotel through the back door, off Place Quebec - it is both easier as well as simple to drop off luggage. Second, there is a 160 space public parking lot about three blocks south of the hotel- an easy walk. And it is free 24 hrs a day.
Beyond that, location outstanding, good restaurants in area, market next door, is rendezvous spot for many tours. Rooms small and old but charming. Stairs steep, so if you have trouble walking up two flights, a bit difficult. Great WW2 memorabilia in hallways. We loved our stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    256
    54
    12
    3
See reviews for
226
380
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Right in the heart of Bayeux the Churchill is a delightful & cozy hotel.
Decorated to fit the authentic feel of the village-like town & Normandy region, the hotel is quaint & historic.
Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the pedestrian friendly street lined with shops and restaurants. Nights were quiet even with the thin walls. (Although you will hear your room neighbors, everyone seemed respectful of resting hours). Noises are to be expected but overall a quiet town & hotel. Our room was a comfortable size, clean, offering a closet with a safe, a large up to date bathroom and lovely tv. Wifi was easy to access. A light breakfast is available but we did not partake so I cannot comment. Staff was incredibly polite, hospitable and helpful. A lovely shop on the lobby level is full of unique gift choices with a nice variety of inventory (and not touristy). I recommend this hotel for its location, price point, quality staff and cleanliness.
A comment on location: located next door to a supermarket and on same street that is lined with cafes and restaurants, this hotel is a no brainer for a central location. If you book in July check to see when the medieval festival is! So much fun!

Side Note: the hotel offers a shuttle service to Mont St Michel for a fee of 60€ per person. It's an 1.5hr ride there and back with 3hrs to roam freely at the Mont. Worth booking ahead of time and visiting for a half day tour if you have the time to do it. Mont St Michel is a gorgeous site to explore and shouldn't be missed. We used the hotel email address to do out booking without any troubles!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time in France, travelers with me were 2 teens and my husband. We started out in Paris for 3 nights, took the train and stayed at this lovely property for 3 nights.
First the owners, employees were the most welcoming and sweetest people we have ever incurred in our many travels. I can see why they are received the Tripadvisor award for 2012. Much deserved!!
Hotel itself----everything I had thought a French hotel to be. Cute/Quaint/Clean.
We had to reserve 2 rooms as in most of France you need to do this for a party of 4 or more. Rooms obviously older but very nice updated bathrooms, comfortable beds, clean and nicely decorated. No elevator, not an issue for us but could be for others.

Personal experience/personal opinion. My family is used to very modern, air conditioned hotels. This hotel has 10 rooms with air, so if this is important to you request it, We are not used to having our windows open with no screens. So the first night was a little rough as there were some bugs in the room, BUT no mosquitoes!! I kept thinking a bat, a bird etc would come in though the window. BUT after looking around, this is common in France with the windows open( remember first time in Europe. :) Second and third night slept wonderfully with the nice cool breeze coming in. When back in Paris, I really missed having the open windows. :)

Parking - there is free parking nearby and the hotel parking is free from 7pm-9am . Its not that much and with the lack of parking the town offers this is a deal. We traveled all day away from the hotel anyway so this did not effect us much.

Wi-Fi free but doesn't work the best. Meaning very touchy, works and than stops working.

Location of our rooms -- noisy as they were by the outside patio. We just put ear buds/earplugs and that helped a lot. Remember our windows were open also so heard every word being spoken outside our window

Location of hotel - excellent!!! Right next to the main street, the church, Tapestry museum,

Breakfast-- continental for $12. After paying $22 in Paris for the same thing this was a steal.

Things to do:
Bayeux is such a quaint cute town. Town is dead at 7? when all stores close. Lots of restaurants to chose from. Didn't have a favorite.
Light show/French story about Bayeux is offered on Tuesdays/Thursdays near church starting at 11, Get in line early as the courtyard only can handle so many. If you don't make the 11 o'clock show, there is one at 11:25/11:30. The church is also lit up these nights and is absolutely breath taking.
We drove ourselves to Utah/Omaha beaches. Make a plan ahead of time and pick up a self guided tour book ahead of time. Did not do this so trying the night before to figure it out on where to start and what we wanted to see. Rick Steve is suppose to have an awesome book. Most people hire a private guide or go on a bus. The hotel has a group tour they recommend. We like to go at our own pace so it was perfect. We started at the 360 movie and worked our way up the coast to first Omaha and than on to Utah stopping at various museums along the way. IF driving ask how to get out of town towards the direction you want to go. We were so turned around right away than figured it out. The tourist information building is right out the front of the hotel to the left . Super helpful!!
Helpful hints, learn the most common words in French as they do appreciate it. There are awesome translation apps out there for your phones. I added a $30 international data plan for a month so I could roam for directions and the translation app. Thank goodness as I used these a lot.
Mont-St. Michel-- 1 1/2 away, easy to get to, very cool to see but wasn't our favorite. Very crowded. Was expecting more.
Overall I would go back to this hotel and town! After driving through other small villages this was the perfect choice for us.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT near the hotel patio, I booked late so couldn't be choosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My 70 yr old mother, 2 yr old son and I stayed here for one night in July 2013. We had an excellent stay. The triple room I reserved was wonderfully large with a beautiful bathroom and large windows. Our room was right beside the checkin desk which I initially thought was weird but it turned out great. They have 2 doors to help prevent noise and when in the room, I couldn't hear anything happening in the checkin area. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and in the center of the shopping area which makes finding a place to eat really easy. We ate breakfast in the hotel as my mother was leaving early for a D-day beach tour and my son ate for free. The breakfast was nice but I thought expensive for 12 euros each although service was friendly and welcoming.

We had a wonderful trip to Bayeux and our stay at the hotel was definitely wonderful. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

From start to finish we experienced only the best at this hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated in the French style and our bathroom was clean, big and ultra modern. The entire staff was courteous and helpful at all times. The breakfast was elegant and more than substantial with a variety of tasty French treats,fruit,cereals etc. We had a room overlooking the pedestrian only street where one morning there was an outdoor market. We opened our French door windows and the flower vendor said bonjour-what a lovely way to start a morning in the lovely town of bayeux!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A great location for exploring the D-day landing sites. Friendly staff and spatious, clean room.
Poor quality, overpriced breakfast with supermarket yoghurt, tasteless croissants and low quality marmalade. Parking is a serious problem in all of Bayeaux, 1euro/hour you can max pay 3hrs at one time. The hotel does not have a parking for customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel was nice and quite charming. It was a good place to stay in Bayeux. We liked all the displayed WWII photos, old newspapers, etc. IT was like stepping back in time. Everything was as I expected it would be in an old property in Normandy. Like most places outside Paris, there is no air conditioning or elevator. These are not negatives, just the environment. In July when the weather was "hot" according to Normandy standards, the room was sufficiently cooled with open windows. By the way, "hot" was about 80 degrees F with almost no humidity. The 2 rooms we stayed in were comfortable and clean. The staff was pleasant and quickly corrected a room assignment mistake. They provided help with restaurant selections in town. Good place, nice town. Great locale for touring the Normandy invasion sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue St Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Churchill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.